5 Struggles I Experienced As A Newbie and How I Dealt With It

in #blog7 years ago

Dont-give-up-my-friend.jpg
Image Credit

Are you feeling down because your account earns too little?
Feeling unmotivated because you don’t know what to write?

I knew that feeling. Being a newbie in steemit brought me so much excitement especially because of the reward factor until the time that I started steeming.
In my early days, I really have no idea how this platform works. I was a total ignorant. But that motivated me to work harder for me to understand everything. This requires researching, analysis and getting help from other steemians.

In this post, I’ll present the 5 struggles I experienced as a newbie and how I dealt with it.

1- Understanding how the platform work

I really got curious when I first heard about steemit. So when I became a member I explore first my profile. Everything was understandable aside from these terms in the steemit wallet:
• Steem
• SBD
• Steem Power and etc.
As a newbie you have to understand these important terms for you to learn the basics of this platform. The first day I used steemit all I know was this is a platform where we are not labeled merely as members or users rather as authors whose getting paid for every articles that being posted.
Foran easier learning journey read the Steemit White Paper to answer your questions about Steemit.

2- My post has little views, upvotes and earnings

Publishing your earliest article here could be disappointing because you will likely to make little dollars or even cents out of it. That's okay, even the authors today who have already a nice income with their articles experienced this.
One thing that I learned here in steemit is you have to work instead of waiting for your articles to be upvoted. Authors here are looking for quality content that will make their upvotes worthy. You should also promote your post in a number of ways like linking it to other social media sites (e.g. facebook, twitter, Instagram). I also regularly visit steemit chat to promote there my post.
For a newbie like us, we need to use resteeming or upvoting services to publicize our post and earn even little dollars.
Time is a requirement to build your reputation and be noticed. Just continue producing quality content and your articles will be appreciated by other authors.

3- Don't Know What to Write About?

I'm a jack-of-all-trade person. My first week here in steemit, I really didn't know what to write about. I have many interest but I don't have that deeper knowledge about them. So I realized that I have to focus on a subject that is close to my heart and ideals. While I'm on my adjustment period I wrote mostly about my experiences and that reflects what kind of person I am. Then I just noticed that my topics starting to evolve from my experiences to personality development and wrote about psychology too.

My advice? Start with yourself, start a topic that is close to your experiences so that you can put your heart into your writings and time will come you will develop your own niche.

4- Growing my followers

Interacting with other authors is one way to grow your followers. Giving comments can make other author notice you. That’s why make your comments interesting by sharing your experience about the topic or asking further questions. If you disagree with the author, you can also express it in a respectable manner just bear in mind that you have a reputation you have to take care of.
Having consistency with your niche will attract followers with the same interest. In my case, I have trouble creating my own niche because I’m a generalist type of person, I’m not comfortable discussing in specifics. I still have so much to learn but I think I want to focus my writing in Personal Development or Psychology.

5- Interacting with other Steemians

You can start making interaction with other stemians by posting your “self-introduction”. Make your post creative and interesting to catch attention. The good thing here in steemit, people here are very welcoming. So you will have no problem to make friends here right away.
Aside from commenting to other’s posts, visiting Steemit Chat or Discord will enable you to reach out with other steemians. People there are always welcome to assist newbies, I learned many things from them.
You will also notice that there are some projects here run by different groups. I encourage you to participate in these projects to make your journey here more meaningful. This will also help you to communicate with other steemians which will help you to build your own project in the future.

I'm celebrating my one month and more than a hundred followers in Steemit. I learned from scratch, there were times that I thought I don't have what it takes to be a successful member of this community. Until, my earnings started to improve. Steemit gave me a different perspective in Social Media, I realized that we can empower other people to learn the proper use of Social Media Sites by running a project here. Especially the youth, I hope with the help of Steemit we can prove that Social Media is not for chaos it is unity.

For the Newbies don't lose hope. Your hardwork will start to pay-off soon. Just keep on improving. Mabuhay!

Sort:  

Before i even knew the structure or algorithms of steemit I was doing all this
After about a month, I had a handle on things and noticed my reputation take off, more followers and more monetary value coming in.
I love writing and blogging so steemit is right up my alley

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ishteldalosa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

We had the same experience and it's very fulfilling! :)))

I can relate to all of the above. I think I have the basic understanding of Steemit.
No 2, most of my post got less than $1, but that won't stop me from writing.
No 3, when I just started, I really have no idea what to write, but slowly I'm getting it.
No 4 & 5, this is the things that I didn't do much, I think I will start interact with other authors!
Anyway, great post :)

Yeah! For me interacting with other authors will help you to improve as a steemian.

I can totally relate especially on your #1 point. At first I was very confused but little by litle I was able to grasp some of them. I am still a 9 day old minnow.😊😊 nice post.

Yah. Enjoy learning!

post was resteemed by @wayforhappiness !

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post has received a 64.31 % upvote from thanks to: @ishteldalosa.
For more information, click here!

Congratulations @ishteldalosa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48