What To Do When A LinkedIn Contact Oversteps His Boundaries

in #psychology7 years ago

LinkedIn.jpg


I'll let the thread speak for itself:

FullSizeRender (90).jpg

IMG_4788.PNG

FullSizeRender (91).jpg

FullSizeRender (92).jpg

FullSizeRender (93).jpg


What are your thoughts about this???

I appreciate Dakota's work. When I was in Illinois, feeling stressed and oppressed, watching her smoke sesh's helped. Seeing someone behave as naturally and freely with the plant as I know we should all be able to, gave me a sense of hope and relief. To see this guy's critique be about HER didn't sit well with me, lol.

I don't know Dakota, but anyone who peacefully and responsibly stands with cannabis and hemp is A-OK with me. If you or your work is spoken ill of around me -- as inappropriately as it was here -- I will certainly have your back!


RELATED/RECENT POSTS:

The Cannabis Conspiracy: My Anarchast Conversation With Jeff Berwick

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@erikaharris/the-cannabis-conspiracy-my-anarchast-conversation-with-jeff-berwick

Wabi-Sabi: The Art Of Imperfection

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@erikaharris/wabi-sabi-the-art-of-imperfection

A Native View Of Cannabis Dosing

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@erikaharris/a-native-view-of-cannabis-dosing

Spicey, Cannabis-Infused Honey

https://steemit.com/food/@erikaharris/spicey-cannabis-infused-honey

Happy Father's Day, To The Father Of Cannabis! PLUS How To Break Through THC-Shame + THC-Resistance

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@erikaharris/happy-father-s-day-to-the-father-of-cannabis-plus-how-to-break-through-thc-shame-thc-resistance


@erikaharris

Sort:  

This story annoys the heck out of me and I don't even know this woman so I hate to think how you must feel if you've been a follower of her work.
I've been trying to play devil's advocate and think of his side of things.
He probably assumes that his clients hold similar values to himself, which may or may not be true.
He was probably concerned what his clients would think if they were to discover this side of one of his employees and how it would reflect on him. The likelihood of anyone researching his employees is probably slim to none, but I'll let that slide.
With these concerns I kind of understand why he would choose not to employ her. But as for the public attempt at shaming (which I hope failed and backfired), did he ask himself WWJD? Not this, for dam'sure.
There should be a website warning people about potentially unpleasant employers, something like "dickwatch.com". Although I suspect some might be googling that for the wrong reasons.
PS I have not googled it.

PPS I googled it.
PPPS The domain is available.
PPPPS Did you know there are people called Dick Watch? And apparently wrist-borne timepieces as well. I did not click through.

I don't know where my head is at this afternoon. This article's really got me riled.
I was going to say that the Attorney General would probably have no opinion about her but would love to see him locked up.
But then I noticed he was in Canada, so never mind...
I was also wondering why a couple with the surname "Watch" would even consider naming their son "Richard"?
I need to take a siesta after this.

OMG, you crack me up, @lensessions! Starts with a google. Ends with a click ;-)

I appreciate you raising factors that affect him. Everyone in the cannabis industry isn't open-minded, but for the most part... because of the difficulty AND STIGMA associated with the plant, most professionals I encounter are highly compassionate, and SLOW to judge.

Now, maybe he and his client-base are more socially conservative, so she wasn't a good cultural fit for his company. Fine. But no need for the re-enactment of Nathaniel Hawthorne's Scarlet Letter!

I assume this annoyed everyone that read this post. What a big bag of douche. I did like the reply that he got though. Politely put him in his place. This guy doesn't sound normal. Most people wouldn't use the phrasing and misdirection he has. With that being said...he must be pinned down to have his nipples colored in with permanent marker....that'll show him.

@meme.for.steem LMAO! Bright purple, please :-)

Jello Biafra did a spoken word piece in the '90s about the continuation / escalation of the drug war, pointing out that cannabis use was so common that even politicians pushing ahead with the drug war had tried it - including then vice president Dan Quayle. His take away from that absurd hypocrisy was, 'Imagine getting stoned with Quayle'.

Which made me think - Imagine getting stoned with an ultra straight-laced prude like this boss-come-stalker... Then again, I'd imagine people like that only became dealers for the money.

None of which strikes me as being all that moral.

@voluntary, this is such a POWERFUL piece! Thank you so much for mentioning it.

Good grief this girl needs a hug and this guy needs smacked. I just found this post through your latest and totally didnt expect this to be the subject, but im glad i read it.

@lily-da-vine, I really need to improve my titles!

No, it was a great kind of click bait in a way, haha.

Imgur

I share your views on this. I can only go off what I have read here, but I thought the worse initially from what he had written. Turns out there isn't anything to raise concern. And even if there was, and I think this is the key, its none of his (nor mine for that matter) business. Either employ her services or don't. and move on.

Sometimes when people highlight what they perceive as others moral failings, whilst trumpeting their own perceived moral rightness, something is actually not right behind the scene. Not always, but more times than not I have seen this. I grew up in a strict church environment, so I have seen many examples.

You NAILED it, @naquoya! ---> "And even if there was, and I think this is the key, its none of his (nor mine for that matter) business. Either employ her services or don't. and move on."

And ditto, on the accumulated views of strange happenings in strict church environments.

I like that second paragraph. So true. You should never need to tell people what you are...it should be a part of your character.

Looks like she dodged a bullet.

You're right, @lensessions! There IS a happy ending to this :-)

And all the other people who won't want to work for him now...

Congratulations @erikaharris! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I believe one of the biggest problems in this country is people sticking their nose where it doesn't belong , in particular employers who for some reason think they need to know anything and everything about an employee on and off the clock and for some reason convey the thinking that they own the person . I find the we are family approach that some companies like to portrait is everything but that , because simply put we are not family , we maintain a work for pay relationship nothing more , there are things even my (real) family doesn't know about me so why should an employer , what this guy did is a classic example and borderlines a defamation of character case because regardless of his thoughts it's none of his business period , while I don't agree with this girl totally , it's not for me to judge her preferences nor what she does away on her own time in her own life , a mistake being posting things of a social media site where everybody has access to it .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57