Wabi-Sabi: The Art Of Imperfection

in #philosophy7 years ago

侘寂 Wabi-Sabi

Not to be confused with wasabi, that spicy green horseradish.

Wabi-sabi is a Japanese philosophy and aesthetic that focuses on
THE ACCEPTANCE OF IMPERFECTION.

It celebrates what is weathered, worn or rusted.

With strength and clarity, my grandad lived to be 101.

So maybe that's why I've always gravitated toward this way of thinking.

I'm drawn to beauty that is imperfect, impermanent and incomplete,

because nothing is perfect, nothing lasts, and nothing is finished.

I loved this article on wabi-sabi. And this one, too.

If you look into it, or give it some thought, let me know your ideas.


The flowers in the pool...

I first saw them as something to be cleaned. A flaw. Debris.

But then... I saw them as drifting clouds in a sky.

Flower clouds, in a water sky.

A shift of perspective, that brought delight.

@erikaharris

Sort:  

@erikaharris short and insightful post.

Imperfections are what define us as different from others. More importantly imperfections allow for joy, acceptance, and room to live. Honestly I love that life is about to turn upside down.

Lovely post. Thanks

Thanks for your comment, @samest.

Another good one, Erika. I have upvoted it. Keep 'em coming as you do very good work.

Thanks so much, @terrybrock :-)

Thanks for the kanji!
The flowers make interesting shadows, too.

Haha, my pleasure, @stevenlytle! And I agree, about the flower-shadows...

Thank you for sharing this needed reminder. The video was almost hypnotizing.

Apparently, I have always loved wabi-sabi without being able to put a name on it.

There is a Scandanavian movie called 'Drifting Clouds' by Finnish filmmaker Aki Kaurismaki. It came to mind for different reasons, not just the drifting clouds/ flowers. This filmmaker is known for not casting pretty actors but average, ordinary, often considered 'ugly' people in his films.
His films - and the people in it - have a certain beauty to them.
There is indeed often beauty to be found in what other people consider the opposite.

Thanks for sharing this info and especially the further reading!

Thanks for the movie/filmmaker recommendation, @vincentnijman. I'm intrigued, and will check it out. If I do, and review it, I'll be sure to link to you!

you're welcome @erikaharris and yes, if you do, let me know what you think of it :)

I did a post sometime back on a similar Japanese idea, kintsugi. You can find it in my old blogs, or if you don't mind I can post the link in your comments.

@beginningtoend, you're very welcome to post it here! PLEASE DO. And thanks for asking... how courteous of you.

Also, I've never heard of kintsugi before. I love being introduced to new concepts!

@beginningtoend: What a complementary topic. Gold-filled cracks are exactly what drew me to wabi-sabi. Loved your wire-wrap! Beautiful work.

If god has devoted so much time to make some thing imperfect out of all the perfect ones, That should be really special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94