Soapbox Sunday: It's Called SELF-esteem, not OTHER-PEOPLE-esteem!

in #psychology7 years ago

For some reason, today seemed like the perfect starting point for resuming a weekly series I used to run on my blog, some 15 years ago: "Soapbox Sunday."

YellowLeaf
Yellow maple leaf

Truth is, I'm super opinionated and I like to write commentary about the twistedness and foibles of the human species... and particularly some of the ridiculous ways in which we rationalize and validate our own dysfunctions as not-that.

Anyway, I am launching the tag #soapbox-sunday, and would to invite anyone who periodically enjoys "taking on" some possibly controversial topic to do so on Sundays and use the tag on their posts-- and perhaps we can turn it into a community-wide engagement challenge of sorts!

Let's Talk About Self-Esteem...

ButterflyDaisy
Butterfly leaving a daisy...

The whole idea of self-esteem is, of course, a pretty good thing. Let's face it, if you don't value yourself, it's kinda hard to authentically value other people. And if you don't think much of yourself, it's also pretty hard to do things like get a good job, or go on a date... get married. 

Unless, of course, you can find someone who puts "self-loathing" high on their list of qualifications.

Joking aside, self-esteem tends to be a broadly misunderstood thing.

In its most concise definition, self-esteem might be described as an individual's somewhat subjective evaluation of his or her own worth. It is a judgment of oneself as well as the core approach to one's beliefs about oneself. It tends to be made up of a number of components-- for example "I'm intelligent" and "I am skilled" and "I'm worthy" and such things.

Note how these all come from-- and revolve around-- the self.

Misunderstandings, and such...

Of course, it seems like people broadly misunderstand self-esteem.

PinkAzalea
Pink azalea

One common misconception is that someone with "high self-esteem" has to (by some nebulous and unidentifiable standard) mean a person who's an arrogant pushy pillock who pretty much steamrollers over everyone else with the force of their charm and assertiveness. 

Not exactly. But do read up on Narcissistic Personality Disorder. And megalomania. 

Another common misconception is that people with high self esteem are eternally positive and upbeat. Not true... in fact... excessively positive people are often glossing over some sense of lack inside. People with high self-esteem can get depressed, just like anyone else.

Self-esteem is also not an absolute... something you either "have" or "don't have." Not only are there degrees of self-esteem, but it can be compartmentalized. That's something I learned about in therapy, many moons ago... I had no doubt in my mind that I was smart and personable enough to find and keep a great job, while at the same time... didn't believe I was worthy of a date with Quasimodo's uglier cousin, even if I promised her a free trip to Tahiti. 

Self-Esteem is About YOU, not About Other People!

What makes self-esteem a soapbox issue for me is the way many, many, MANY people falsely equate self-esteem with what other people think about them.

StonePortal
View through a stone portal

It's called SELF esteem, people... not "Other-People-Esteem!"

Yeah, I know... there's usually a shitstorm of protest, every time I bring up this point. 

Yes, it is true-- to a limited degree-- that the approval of loved ones, and praise from friends and colleagues may make us feel better about ourselves... in the moment. But it's a short lived boost... much like the small "boost" we get from our Steemit post being upvoted, or getting 2000 "friends" on Facebook.

But here's the problem: If your "self-esteem" is predicated on other people's approval, it's a pretty fragile foundation for your life! And when you're in a cycle of chasing approval, validation and adoration externally in order to maintain your self-esteem-- an inner process-- the outcome is almost inevitably negative: Someone will "let you down" or "not say the right thing" or "do the wrong thing" and suddenly you hate yourself. That's NOT "self-esteem!"

Part two of the soapbox issue-- for me-- is the stupid place we have reached in society, where we pretend any and everything is "good." Because God forbid someone's "self-esteem" should be messed up because we actually tell them that what they did kinda sucked.

If EVERYTHING is "Amazing," then NOTHING is "Amazing!"

For all his other faults and dubious qualities, one of the useful life lessons I learned from my father (who died when I was 18) was not to "overstate reality," simply to make someone feel good about themselves.

ForestPath
Quiet path in the woods

Specifically, not to call something "awesome" or "amazing," unless it truly was.

From where I am sitting, that's one of the great challenges we face in society today. 

It's mathematically (and psychologically) impossible for everyone to be "above average." When we praise our children and peers falsely by labeling the average as "genius" we're actually doing something psychologically destructive! 

Not only do most adults recognize a false statement of praise... resulting in a state of inner anxiety... but when we overpraise our children, we might protect them from harm when they are young, but as soon as they leave home, they are in for an ugly surprise when they interface with a world that is not at all impressed by their "average genius."

Besides, how are you supposed to objectively value ANYthing, when EVERYthing is described as "awesome?"

SO let's discuss! What do YOU think? Does it seem like a lot of people mistake true self-esteem with others telling them they are great? Do you agree that self-esteem is an INNER process, not an external one? If not, why not? Have you ever struggled with self-esteem? How did you work through it? Are you still working on it? Leave a comment-- share your experiences and feedback-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Published 20170903 15:56 PDT

Sort:  

Today's sunday? Who knew? After trucking, military, and other 'essential personell' type stuff...I got out of the habit of caring what day it was. One day is just like the other..

Those who don't have much self esteem now that you mention it...remind me a lot of dogs. Dogs MUST have masters. Either the pack or a human. It's part of their mental make up.

_ Self-esteem is also not an absolute_
Oddly enough I've found that there are very few absolute. Life in not binary. It's not digital at the MacroLevel.

It's mathematically (and psychologically) impossible for everyone to be "above average."
Except at Lake Woebegon (a very liberal place) where all of the children are above average.
All seriousness aside...are you validating the BELL CURVE?


(I took a course in statistics once...fascinating..)

Alas...I tend to find self...several sigma's south on social topics.

What do I think?
I think that Carl Popper had it right.

You can NEVER prove anything to be correct...you can only prove it to be wrong..

Upvoted for great use of graphics, science-speak and other goodness.
"There are lies, damn lies... and statistics." Forgot who said that...
Not sure who this "Bell" fellow was, but he probably made some good points...

The name ' Bell curve' referees to the Shape.
There are several variations.



Internet fail.
The finer nuances of being facetious are usually lost online.
Had many encounters with bell curves during business statistics...

Twain usually gets the credit, but IIRC, he said he got it from Disraeli, and I think he said he got it from somebody else!

10/10

yeah, that statistics course is an eye-opener; especially when so many normal situations can be shown to fall into that distribution pattern!

according to the instructor of the course I took..EVERY large group was subject to the bell curve. He said that individual behavior was a mystery but that groups were easily predictable.

Individual behavior is a total mystery.
One of my favorite pastime was analyzing "outliers" and what they could teach us about trends.

Today's sunday? Who knew?

I got out of the habit of caring what day it was. One day is just like the other..

I can relate to that!

I miss hearing Garrison do the news from Lake Woebegon. I would hear it from time to time. I suppose now that we are in the third half of summer, there is a bit of nip to the air there, and the kids are getting ready to go to their above average schools lol.

As usual, you raise a lot of good points here and I'm not just Saying that as an "over praise." I can't quite put a pin in my own personal issues with self esteem. I am eternally "let down" (as you put it) by most people but that's usually because they did the opposite of what I considered "good " or "moral " in a given situation. In other words, my initial impression of them or who in my head i had built "x" person up to be is shattered. What I'm Saying is I'm not sure the usual reason I'm let down by people is self esteem related. Am I making any sense here?

Yeah, I get what you're saying. People often let us down... but that's an interesting dynamic. As often as not, when someone lets us down, it's the result of their own shortcomings... intersecting with our expectations. I get "trapped" by my own expectations that people would generally be "good" and act "intelligently" in the world-- which is a BIG mistake. People aren't and they don't.

But does my disappointment reflect how I feel about me or just how I perceive them? In most cases, the latter. I am still who I was, before the interaction.... although perhaps a little more jaded and cynical.

Good introspective way of putting it. Generally leading me to be more cynical and pardon my French but, I'm already cynical as f*ck

Soapbox

I really like that idea, if I happen to remember next week and have something I will use that tag!

Self-esteem

Never been big on self-esteem so don’t have much to say on that. While you do address many of my issues with it those are still my vailed points for hatting it. You can call it other things all you want: narcissistic, megalomania.

You can call it a misunderstanding but I call it the new social norm. People just want inflate themselves like an air balloon with hot air. I just don’t have time for that.

Once upon a time we were judged by the depth of our character, but somewhere along the way that became not "enough," and now we live in this "cult of personality" world where every single thing we do feels like it is just another sales pitch.

I just love when a person with a low self-esteem and non-existent ego starts projecting on me.
I know that my motivation in many cases equals zero, and I quite fondly chose disinterest over including myself in activity, lol - but at the moment I reply with an explanation the only thing I can hear from that devoid of emptiness is my own echo.
I am known to have a s huge self-esteem. If you are about to board me on a plane, make sure to package that monster into another flight, but I am not pushy, I am not arrogant within normal parameters and nobody will even notice or feel anything is remotely similar to the definition given in any book.
Some people, for some reason, just love to give those labels around and expect the others to accept it.
Is it because they feel better, or because they want to 'demolish' somebody's self-esteem - is beyond my knowledge.
I just feel extremely comfortable with my self and I feel good living inside of myself.
It doesn't touch anybody else and it doesn't include anyone's else lack of whatever.

"Being comfortable in your own skin" is perhaps one of the better definitions of solid self-esteem.

I struggle with appearing too self confident because my father was a narcissist and I'm wary of coming off that way. But if what you say is true, that self esteem is largely internal, then I guess I needn't worry. And it makes sense.... if you value yourself, it can come out in many more ways than simple self confidence or even arrogance.

Yeah, my mom was a narcissist, so I get that tendency to swing in the opposite direction.
I experience my value (after a lot of self-work) as coming from myself... When I struggle, in the face of someone who opinionates and projects, I remind myself it's like shoes size... it doesn't change, regardless of whether someone claims I have BIG or SMALL feet. That's all "theirs," not mine....

Loading...

@denmarkguy, my hand to God, your essays are better than therapy for provoking self-reflection. I'm going to have to turn them -- and my responses into journal entries on my own. One day is not enough time to answer with even a fraction of the "stuff" that comes up in answer to your questions. Seven days is not enough. (And if somehow I managed to get it written, srsly, you wouldn't want to read it. Ain't nobody got time for dat! [grin])

But I had to pause long enough to say your questions -- and your essays -- are a handful of tiny jewels I stop off to collect every day, every day, every day. What a service you provide ... and bless you for that! <3

self-esteem from accomplishment, not from attributes (IMO)

you can give someone a swole head from complimenting them, but a person who can look back at what they built is going to be the happier of the two

Maybe that plays into the PC world of today where there are no winners/losers and nothing is "wrong"

I say self-esteem is an INNER process.

I have not been plagued by all the things you mentioned in your article and simply thought that everyone understood it the same. No wonder I sometimes have difficulty communicating.... people make up their own meaning for words!

Don't laugh... I actually argued about the meaning of some words and when I proved my meaning was correct according to the dictionary, I was told that they don't care what the dictionary says, I should use THEIR interpretation if I want to be understood! Like I'm a mind reader and am supposed to know what words they interpret incorrectly! Sheesh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70