You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soapbox Sunday: It's Called SELF-esteem, not OTHER-PEOPLE-esteem!

in #psychology7 years ago

I struggle with appearing too self confident because my father was a narcissist and I'm wary of coming off that way. But if what you say is true, that self esteem is largely internal, then I guess I needn't worry. And it makes sense.... if you value yourself, it can come out in many more ways than simple self confidence or even arrogance.

Sort:  

Yeah, my mom was a narcissist, so I get that tendency to swing in the opposite direction.
I experience my value (after a lot of self-work) as coming from myself... When I struggle, in the face of someone who opinionates and projects, I remind myself it's like shoes size... it doesn't change, regardless of whether someone claims I have BIG or SMALL feet. That's all "theirs," not mine....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68