Stop Procrastinating! Make Daily Progress with this Trello Hack

in #productivity6 years ago

Without focus, life can pass you by without achieving your dreams. It's easy to waste too much time on things which aren't important. When your responsibilities grow, having a plan on how you're going to stay focused is critical.

I've tried a lot of different TODO list applications and productivity hacks, but many of them didn't quite work for me. Some were too focused on long term projects so I didn't get a sense of daily accomplishment or they wouldn't include all the little details of my life or they would be too structured and rigid, making me feel trapped which hinders my creativity.

I started playing around with Trello for different projects I'm working on, and I came across a way to use Trello not just for long term projects, but also for a daily TODO list. This video demonstrates how it works. I hope you find it useful to stay focused on the things which matter most to you for the current season of life you're in.

This post is kind of a follow up from a post I did a couple months ago: How Do You Stay Productive?

I hope you find it useful!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

@lukestokes You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

I've used Trello successfully for work but for life in general I use https://habitica.com/ which is similar but cuter and gamified.

Oh, that is cute. Definitely looks like they took the gamification part seriously. :)

Yeah and as a recovering procrastinator, it's saved me from myself more than once :D

Thanks Luke, I've been using Trello for years... but never successfully, it's often just become a dumping ground for ideas that I never get back to... so then I end up using Notepad, which works until my computer resets itself and I lose everything.

I've set up a daily template and made a board for today... pressing that 'C' is pretty satisfying. Thanks for sharing this!

Cool! Glad to hear you're giving it a try. Let me know what you think after playing with it for a while.

I use a combination of handwritten journal/log (like Bullet Journal) + the Todoist app to track smaller tasks. Then I block out time for getting deep work done and avoid small distractions.

I like Trello for medium-size, coordinated projects with a team and distinct project phases or work that passes through phases (like document editing). It's still a little clunky for larger projects, imo.

I find it's a lot of extra work for the smaller stuff.

It looks very good that application ... I have time looking for some schedule, so that the tasks are more organized, and I do not forget any .... Thanks for the recommendation!

I'll have to check out this @lukestokes

It's an interesting tool with the boards, etc. and might be geared towards those more visually oriented, but for my personal style, it's hard to relate to all those little squares, hahaha. It's different for everyone I know, so glad it works well for you.

Yeah, I've come to realize I'm more of an audio-visual learner. Straight text trips me up sometimes with my mild dyslexia.

🏆 Hi @lukestokes! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @lukestokes :) | For investors.

This look pretty great and I am already thinking of some great uses for personal, work and Steem stuff! I will definitely give it a try as my to do list has grown to several of dozen that have not been very active.

Actually landed in PR today! The island greeted with rain all day! Looking forward to seeing family as the Holiday season is always great here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70