How Do You Stay Productive?

in #productivity6 years ago

Lately things have been really busy for me. There's a lot going on, pulling me in multiple directions with conference speaking, leadership, development, planning, and more. In one sense, it's really cool that I'm finding multiple ways to add value to the world and life itself is exciting and full! In other ways, it's clear I need to come up with some better strategies for managing my time if I want to get everything done.

We're moving to Puerto Rico in the beginning of December which adds another level of urgency to everything. Thankfully my amazing wife @corinnestokes is managing the details of the move such as selling most of our things on a day to day basis. I'm focusing on the various projects I'm involved in such as being a Steem Witness and part of @eosDAC which is working to enable decentralized autonomous communities and the code they need to thrive. If you're an EOSDAC token holder, please register as a member of the DAC here to help us launch on chain: https://members.eosdac.io/

That's the most exciting thing I've been doing lately, but as with any new startup type activity, there's always more work to be done than time in the day. I'm realizing I need to start time-boxing my activities to ensure I still accomplish all the things I intend to do without letting important things get missed or getting sucked too deeply into one project.

I've been doing the Exchange Transfer report almost every weekend for more than a year and lately it's not getting done on time. Same thing for the monthly Witness Engagement report. I haven't been as engaged with the Steem community as I'd like, though I am looking forward to hanging out at Steemfest3. :) There are seasons for intense focus in one area or another, but there's also a lot of value in finding balance. I'm still keeping up with my witness duties and my backup node is running v0.20.6rc1 to test it out. That said, I want to organize my time a bit more and that's what this post is about.

I started using Trello more for organizing my priorities and todo lists in swim lanes like so:

trello.png

If I ever get distracted, I can go back to my list and make sure I'm working on the most important things I intend to get done today.

Though I haven't been as consistent with it, I also sometimes use the TopTracker app to keep track of what I'm spending my time on:


top_tracker.png

One nice feature of the app is how it periodically takes blurry screenshots of your desktop showing what you're doing (with a preview first, so you can reject it if you want). This is a nice way to stay on track in case you get side tracked reading some website instead of working on your current task.

The more I've been thinking about productivity hacks, the more I've also been considering how much I value flow and the free, autonomous nature of doing whatever comes my way in any given moment. Often, the things I find most valuable to work on in a given day or not the things I originally planned on accomplishing, especially as I work with others on a team or within larger communities. As I come up with systems, I also don't want to lock myself into doing less valuable things just to get through my list. As with everything, a balance is needed to stay productive, flexible, and creative.

I recently asked this question on Twitter, and I liked the answers so much, I wanted to share them with you as well:

Here are some of the replies:


The replies got me thinking a little deeper:

Ultimately, focused attention creates amazing results. At the same time, freedom empowers creativity and some of our best work.

How do you keep your responsibilities balanced? How do you stay productive?

Thanks to everyone who left such great replies on Twitter. If you want to follow me there, you can do so at https://twitter.com/lukestokes

Please leave your ideas in the comments below as I'd love to hear them.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I found myself nodding in recognition as I read this @lukestokes... much of the recognition coming from a long history of self-employment, much like yourself.

Like you I loosely "suffer" from what my wife and I jokingly refer to as "Too Many Interests Syndrome." Which is a tongue-in-cheek way of saying that the lives of independent polymaths tends to be an endless challenge of balancing the multitude of things we get involved in.

I'm by no means perfect, but I'll share a couple of things that have helped along the way. Maybe they'll resonate, in some way.

I did a review of what I was doing and asked myself whether I was doing each thing simply because I could, and it had become a habit or was I doing it because it truly felt meaningful and like I was adding value. We get in the habit of doing certain things simply because they are familiar, and UNLESS they are crucial to your financial bottom line, ask yourself "Why?"

Next question: "Are you putting your energy into Plan A?" Maybe that sounds like a no-brainer, but sometimes we get stuck in a pattern of striving to organize all our lesser projects because "when I get that done, I'll have time to fully concentrate on Plan A." We can make sense of that logically, but there's the intangible that we're actually giving our best creative energy to plans B, C, D and E...

This may not apply to you, but I also sometimes get caught up in "Organizatis," which is that I spend more time trying to work out time saving systems for all my projects than actually working on those projects. I have had to be very vigilant about that... and accept that yes I CAN work on "the main event" even if there are some lesser loose ends hanging open.

Great summary, thank you. :)

It's so easy to fall into the familiar. It's safe. It's easier. It doesn't involve risk or struggle.

The really important stuff is usually much more difficult. If it was easy, it wouldn't be that important for us to do as anyone could do it.

Love this post and you exposed the challenge so well. To flow or schedule...or combo. Sean is a master scheduler and I am a flow girl, and as such we can see the pros and cons to each one. The schedule way does help us become aware of and overcome areas of procrastination. Just do as scheduled. 💪🏾 And the flow way let’s us bask in the moment of inspiration, unplanned opportunities that pop up, etc. ✨🤲🏼 So it seems the solution is a combo of the 2. However, as a flow girl trying to firm up her schedule I find I have to firmly stick with my schedule for now while I’m training myself towards it. I have to establish that habit FIRMLY before I can afford to allow myself to have moments and flow and be confident that I’ll come back as scheduled. Flow is a slippery slope for me. 😂

It’s funny because this issue plays out more widely than just calendars and productivity. The same debate comes up in the yoga community. Should we follow a regimented sequence practicing some prescribed order of postures each time, or listen to what our body needs each day flowing and lingering with wherever inspiration takes us? For me the same answer applies - combo is best. Because only practicing open flow allows us to avoid our most dreaded postures, which are often the ones we would most benefit from practicing.

And in everything... balance.

Well said.

That's quite interesting to think how the free-flowing expression of yoga also includes rigid, set structures.

Oh yes, it’s true. And some yogis will get into debates about the order and duration of the sequences, and whether one can change or omit things. As in, here’s what I’ve found works for me vs here’s what the ancients (aka others or the wise ones) prescribed. The ego weasels it’s way in everywhere. 😂✌🏽

I think that fundamentally, to create real progress in our life, we need to focus on tasks that helps us achieve the long-term goals. This requires Proactivity and healthy habits. I like the fundamental principles that Stephen Covey talks about in the 7 Habits. This books helped me to see my tasks and priorities in a better perspective.
There is also a great online app that I use that is called Week Plan.
https://next.weekplan.net

I plan out my priorities of the week FIRST based on my roles (like making for being a dad- go to the beach). Secondly I include in the week my other urgent tasks. Surprisingly, a lot that we consider URGENT is not always IMPORTANT.
I suggest the 7 habits book as a good read and the Week Plan app.

Looks interesting! Thanks, I'll check it out. Yes, I've heard many good things about Covey's book, but I don't think I've read it yet.

Quit Facebook and all non-essential social media. Limit your time on essential forums like this to once a week.

Unless you really need to (and really analyse and be honest what need means to you.) do not check your emails everyday. Try and put it back to once a week.

If you do have to check them everyday, make them in one big chunk at the end.

Get rid of all games and nonessential apps on your phone. The more you use these things, the more you are telling your brain you are not ok with being bored, even for a second.

If you don't already, start meditating. I personally recommend mindfulness. If you can concentrate on something as boring as your breathing then anything else is a walk in the park.

Start getting into wall staring sessions. Whereby you sit with your phone and computer off and simply stare at the wall and let your mind wander, thinking about a problem you need to tackle.

Do not sit at your computer with the internet on all the time. You'll be surprised how little you actually need to be online. Rather create chunks in your day (the length will depend on your hustle) whereby you are online. The rest of the time simply be offline.

KILL ALL NOTIFICATIONS ON ALL DEVICES FROM ALL SITES. These are quite literally destroying your ability to focus.

Have an internet sabbath day, whereby you do not go online all day.

Look up techniques for memorising a deck of cards and start doing so. Use incremental change to help you. Start with ten or so cards, then move your way up.

Read the book Deep Work by Cal Newport where most of these tips come from.

Good luck, and see you at Steemfest!

Cg

This comment was really useful man. Thanks for taking your time @cryptogee. I hope my girlfriend @gladysmak will listen to your advice and kill her notifications (especially Instagram, it's bombarding her phone screen every other minute :) And big yes for meditation. It's an ABSOLUTE MUST in these times of ATH mind pollution! Thanks and Respect brother.

Great advice, Cg. I look forward to seeing you at Steemfest!

I turned off almost all notifications a long time ago so that if I do get a notification (such as a text message that hasn't been muted), it's hopefully something important (like a Steem witness node that needs attention).

One of the things I find a bit challenging is the role "media" plays in my current responsibilities. That includes social media. I've become an advisor for a number of projects and a bit of blockchain journalist. When I'm speaking on panel discussions or giving a talk, people expect me to up-to-speed on the various aspects of the ecosystem happening right then. That's part of the value I bring. Social media can be (but often isn't) an effective mechanism for capturing that useful information if you're careful about who you follow and how you time box it. I also like being social. Connecting with people releases feel-good chemicals which helps me do all my other tasks better. It's mostly about balance.

One major problem with tips and advise is that there isn't enough detail and there isn't much support for the person to move to the new behavior.

I have created a time management course which serially (in a step-by-step way, from simple to more complex) develops new habits in a person. The course goes over how to plan your day and do so in a way that leads you to your long-term goals; creativity and problem solving; how to systematically build focus time and defocused time/rest into your day and what each of these can be useful for; what to do with procrastination; managing your sleep; how we can ensure we are not wasting our time; and other concepts and behaviors relevant to time management and achieving one's goals.

I was thinking about the price and perhaps 25 STEEM would be a good one for the whole course (8 weeks). Let me know if it sounds interesting.

Do you have a link you drop with more information? Sounds interesting. I wonder about some of these structured approaches though... they almost sound like robot factories. :)

I really value freedom and autonomy. Sometimes the productivity hack culture forgets about burnout and the long-term effects of feeling trapped within systems and goal seeking instead of fully enjoying the moment and the journey. I'm curious how your course tackles those aspects of humanity as well as the negative sides of setting goals as well.

Yeah, hearing you about freedom and autonomy. I don't have a link yet, haven't really advertised this course. But I'm hoping that it will be clear to the people taking it that the focus is on self-care and on doing more with less - less time, less stress, less effort. I find that my most massive productivity gains are during downtime. I can save myself years of work when I have insights and solutions during a leisurely walk or when I lie in bed. This continuous course-correction can't happen (in my understanding) if a person is stressed and rushing to get things done, or having a regimented schedule.

I find that technology helps me very much as tracking progress is key and targeting realistic die dates helps me be accountable with those tasks. Although I also prioritize the high priority items, I also tend to get smaller task out of the way quickly so that they do not interrupt my list or stick to my mind if I can get it out of the way quickly. At work, I also tend to delegate the tasks that can be done by others with reviews before delivering. It helps the team learn and feel ownership with tasks. Great hearing from you and looking forward to the adventure move to PR!

Yeah, I'm a fan of doing the small important or urgent things quickly to free the mind for the big urgent and important. Delegation is another area I plan to practice more. There are many people within the eosDAC community, as an example, who want to get more involved and contribute value, but just need someone to clarify where that value can best be added. A little more time spent there could go a long way.

Haven't really tried out the Time Boxing thing yet, but sounds like it might be interesting. I did download this the other day :-

https://www.ganttproject.biz

Haven't had to formally project manage things for a while as I've become a free-flowing type, but added complexity and deadlines recently have forced my hand.

Mostly I focus on Milestones (Deadlines) and work backwards to add in predecessors and dependencies. But hey, whatever works eh :)

Great tips! It sounds like you have a lot of projects going on.

Brother Luke! I'm finally back to the land of good internet (Hong Kong) after my India trip and I got the pleasure to read your article. What a lovely read. You're lucky to have a supportive wife like Corrine. Really looking forward to present you Gladys @gladysmak at Anarchapulco in February. I see that you've been really busy, I been there, it's an ultimate art/skill to manage your time effectively. The tips you mention are definitely useful. Thank you for your time/efforts you put in this share. Much Love, always.

Thanks Jan! I hope we can make it to Anarchapulco. I haven't made plans for it yet because we're so focused on the Puerto Rico move in December and Steemfest next month.

I'm glad you have internet again. That's like water. Gotta have it. :)

Gotcha Luke, I hear you. Just FYI the rooms will sell out soon, so if you have a hunch you’ll go then book now. Also I’m gonna be part of the team (will speak to the “kids and youngsters” part of the audience) so I have lots of inside info about the upcoming ‘pulco. It will be nothing like the last one. There will be SO MUCH AMAZING stuff going on I had hard time imagining it. Best event of the year hands down. Hope you can make it!

Wow. You think it will sell out? I thought they were renting the entire hotel? Dang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31