The fallacy in @dan's Radical Transparency and a nifty Scaling solution for Cryptocurrencies that can also create heightened Privacy at zero extra cost/effort

in #privacy6 years ago

Most people who are into cryptos love anonymity. Some people (including @dan) are calling calling for radical transparency. Some things like STEEM having radical transparency is a great asset. A property registry being transparent is extremely valuable. Transparency in organizations where our money is spent by other people (like governments and charities) is a must. But as the PIVX teams puts it, Privacy is non negotiable. Why?

Asymmetry in information processing


@dan wrote a great article few months ago with some great pints. You can read it here. It's totally worth your time. But the entire idea is only sustainable under a massive fallacy of symmetrical information processing skills and intellect of all parties. You can talk about how much greatness a benevolent government/king could do. There are even many instances to prove that point. But that's as good as "investing " all your retirement savings in Powerball because look at all that price money!

Ask yourself when did you decide to invest in crypto or any specific coin. Ask yourself how much knowledge about the subject you possessed at the time. How many people do you know that had the same amount of information and didn't invest? I talked to a friend of mine who wanted to change the world and after many events he settled on investing in bank bonds (after going to work in a bank.....) and he probably didn't even touched that relic called Bitcoin. (I think he's earning 13.5% a year in fiat)

Different people with different intellectual capabilities will create a new shadow class system under radical transparency. Those who have better understanding about human mind/ psychology/ behavior will be able to exploit those who are less resistant to psychological manipulation while being undetected even under a system of radical transparency making things hidden in plain sight.

If you know anything about spy movies, psychological thrillers, proper anime or at least black hat hackers you know that not all gifted/talented people are benevolent. Even the good ones may cross the line once or twice. Digital databases can be hacked and exploited by talented programmers. Other talented programmers can be used to prevent that. But that's for servers etc. You can't use another person's help to watch over your own individual consciousness. Your mind is yours and you can improve it through understanding and meditation. But you can't get a call to Lao Tzu and have your mind guarded against psychological manipulation tricks (especially the subtle ones that you wouldn't even notice.

An excellent illustration of how much of a powerful thing this asymmetry in information processing is, I'd like to suggest you Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo which is 24 episodes of awe inspiring artistic extravagance packed with an intense story with twists and turns.

Another great example would be Naoki Urasawa's Monster. The last 11 episode arc was pretty much a nose dive. But the rest was just perfect 10 masterpiece.

Unintended Privacy via Scaling


In my post The central points of failure in both macro-economics and Privacy Tech: Hiding information vs Obscuring Information I discussed about the existing privacy tech. Mainly there are 2 kind of privacy tech. One hides information through encryption which is a trusted setup like the Zerocoin protocol which lead to projects like Zcash and zPIV (PIVX) and there is also Dash which obscure information through a trusteless mixing resulting in a more fungible coin supply.

But in all of these events it looks like Privacy is getting in the way of scaling. I mean you not only have to deal with information but also hiding or obscuring that information. But what if there is a scaling solution that may or may not give airtight privacy.

What if we get rid of the information altogether?


The entire immutability of the blockchain is built upon this idea of having a perfect record of everything. That is also the reason anyone can know every single transaction of your STEEM or most other crypto wallets. The scaling solution (idea) I came up in 2017 wasn't even about creating privacy. I was simply having a conversation with someone on steemit where I discussed about doing an FPS multiplayer game on blockchain. I got laughed at for the idea. I'm not a programmer. But I'm going to leave my concept anyways.

The idea was a hierarchical system of discarded blockchains. It was only today I realized how this concept can create some unprecedented level of privacy without any extra cost. Imagine there is a blockchain with 10 second blocks. This is more than sufficient for daily transactions and to get rid of credit cards. It's nothing new or big. What's new is what if this blockchain is discarded after 60 blocks (10 minutes). We could have 400 MB blocks and it'd still only require ~24GB. After 60 blocks the final results gets into a higher level blockchain that has 10 minute block times. Then we can purge that blockchain after 36 blocks (6 hours), then after 28 blocks (7 weeks) and things could go on up or down in the hierarchy.

On chain Scaling > Off chain scaling


From the very beginning I've considered the Lightning Network to be a joke that was just taken too seriously. LN is nothing but a joke. Currently it only sits as a random unfulfilled promise where BTC fees are finally gone as low as $1.28 USD because it's doing less transaction per day than what used to be the number of unconfirmed Tx which went up above 230,000 Tx while we currently only have 167,977 Tx for the day. That's just tragic. If you want to fix something, fix it at the roots. A tree with strong roots won't fall when a storm comes.

LN is just an inefficient way of doing pretty much what described. If you use any centralized exchange (Binance is the best one at the moment. You can use https://www.binance.com/?ref=10102736 if you don't have an account yet) you'll be exchanging Bitcoin a lot. But those transactions don't happen on the "Blockchain". If that did happen, you'll have to sell your car to cover up the fees to for sending money to http://anon.steem.network to make a new STEEM account.

When someone withdraw BTC or when the exchange moving their funds, BTC transfers get recorded in the Blockchain. Whatever happened in the exchange is a mystery to anybody who's looking. It's as good as something that didn't happen because when it comes to the blockchain, It really didn't happen.

This kind of privacy cannot be retroactively de-anonymized and there is really no encryption to be cracked. The only 2 problems is that you don't know whether your Tx would get purge during the process and individuals/ organizations could still keep copies of the full blockchain. Eventually over the days you are bound to get your Tx wiped out. But without encryption tech that could slow down scaling, you have no guarantees that a government didn't keep tabs. But at least it's better than any non-privacy coin. Everything gets faster, cheaper and easier while creating accidental anonymity. Even if anybody kept tabs, those tabs are not going to be considered immutable. They are going to be as good as lie detectors in a court room.

Sort:  

You may want to check Off the Record protocol Off-the-Record Communication, or, Why Not To Use PGP

Perfect Forward Secrecy and Deniable authentication are key concepts in the Off the Record
messaging protocol.

from loki whitepaper

That was a really great read. I went in thinking it might get too complicated (I'm not a programmer/cryptographer) but it was explained very well. Thank a massive lot for sharing.

completely agree on the LN, a complete joke! In my opinion! Imo just a blocksize increase is all that is needed, for bitcoin at least. For ether, things like plazma might be needed since it's blockchain has to process much much more than just transactions. And privacy is really isn't that much of an issue too. This is a great article:
https://medium.com/@eduffield222/how-to-enabling-on-chain-scaling-2ffab5997f8b
DASH Evolution, while I am not too much of a fan of DASH, this definitely looks interesting! I am looking forward to it!
Monero doesn't seem to care too much about scaling, they only care about privacy(no matter the cost), but they are making RuffCT(reduces Tx size) and MimbleWimble(yes it is called that). But they don't seem to care too much about speed, but I guess it will improve a bit at least.
Anyways, modern computers can easily handle big blocks, and technology will advance and it will get easier to scale like this! Not to mention other scaling solutions, like sharding.
Plus, there are things like NANO(formerly XRB), which scale infinitely and work great with microtransactions! Plus IOTA is good too(if they fix themselves up, wallets are horrible very buggy etc.).
Honestly I doubt scaling will be much of an issue in the future!

P.s. Love Urasawa's Monster, such a good show! Definitely in my top 10!

Gankutsuou is even better than Monster. Give it a try. Art style can hurt the eye at times but at some other times it's just amazing in every way.

ok, I will. But now I gotta finish some other anime first

Excellent reply. I read Evan's post during the scaling debate (joke) and it was one of the reasons I started considering Dash as the #1 "Currency" coin. I still think PoW has to deal with its energy waste problem.

Monero actually takes things further. I doubt it'll be much more than a dark market thingy. I actually have many positive thoughts about MimbleWimble. I don't know much about RuffCT. I know that CT is an unscalable nightmare. Monero doesn't even have self-funded treasury system. It's not a DAO.

NANO is actually the 3rd non-blockchain that I have high hopes for. The first 2 were MaidSafe and Hashgraph. I think all 3 of them will have a great future (especially Hashgraph). IOTA is pretty much just crypto Tesla. I won't bet my money on them to deliver.

Well made post as as always ,I was lately bit inactive I was actively busy with figuring out how the charts work ,I made serveral predicition
finally after many tries I had one prediction spot on , it was of verge , I haven't followed any news regarding that coin ,apparently their was a massive crowfunding ongoing .But the point here is luckliy that I didn't heard anything about that so I avoided the deadly mistake on charting on good news ,the problem now is to determine that mine prediction wasn't a luck guess ,so I need to repeat what I did with verge to others hopefully it's not only pure luck.

You proposed interesting idea ,basically a system that prevent blockchain scalling and eventually that certain blockchain will get purged after a certain amount of time and things will move up and down in hierchay.I don't get that bit ,I can use clarifiction .I would say what are you waiting for monopolize your idea and make it a reality .You have to start some where .Isn't a sight to behold that you breath your idea to life .

But you can't get a call to Lao Tzu and have your mind guarded against psychological manipulation tricks (especially the subtle ones that you wouldn't even notice.
So , true you reminded me of something We all like to think we’re in control of our perceptions and decisions. The idea that we’ve been manipulated into buying something is distasteful.Sometimes when I buy something I think about that thought ,was it all my doing or my behavouir was influenced for a marketing ploy .
Ask yourself when did you decide to invest in crypto or any specific coin. Ask yourself how much knowledge about the subject you possessed at the time.
That question is worth of its own post

Last but not least a here a quick recommendation


it's has nice tune

Good luck with your TA. I laddered out of most cryptos except STEEM in January as I was expecting bit of a sideways correction. Personally I think we are close to an end. At most we'd see 2 more months of sideways.

what are you waiting for monopolize your idea and make it a reality .

Not enough programming skills. I only know some basics.

I'll try to clarify my content in a future post.

i read it ,it much clearer now , I will let the idea sink in ,

foot krutch they have some great numbers on their belts,what a pleasant suprise that wicked it one of my favourites , fly on the wall , courtey call check the out same band.

I don't know but they got something especially the second one
Can you guess what favourite line is on the second video ;)

Fly on the Wall recommended to me by a friend after having a deep chat about society, individuality etc. He said the song sounded a lot like the stuff I was telling me. I checked out the song and it was one of the greatest lyrics I've ever heard in my entire life. My friend gave me the entire album and it was one of the best albums ever.

Be somebody, End is Where We begin, War of a Change, Courtesy call are all my favorites. Shook wass one that really connected with me. Now it feels like past. I was just that person who could have called Shook, semi-autobiographical.

These are my 2 favorites from Nine Lashes:


Thanks a lot for the 30 Seconds to Mars song. It's the best I've heard from them.

Loading...

the IRS and NSA would for sure want to keep a copy of all transactions. I thought you might enjoy this meme I made

But proving that those copies weren't forged would be tough for them. Either way the privacy part was a side effect of scaling. I wasn't even planning for that while I was entertaining my thoughts.

there are a lot of interesting problems to solve in this nascent space.

Resteemed upvoted

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5600 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Upvote this comment if you like this service.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63