Why Telling A Story is the Most Powerful Way to Change the World | Introducing the #PowerofStory Challenge

in #powerofstory6 years ago (edited)

I’m a theatre-maker and storyteller by trade. Whether I’m directing a play, devising a new work, or writing a grant for an arts organization my bread and butter lies in my ability to tell a story and connect with an audience.



In 2015 I founded an interdisciplinary performance collective that just launched a “steeemit branch” 11 days ago: @TheNewAlchemists. The simplest explanation of what we do is this: we tell stories because we believe good stories can change the world.


More specifically, we tell stories that need to be told with courage, compassion, humanity, and heart.

I have always had a strong affinity for stories -- there are key stories that stay with me no matter where I go or what I do. And, over the years, I have started to see what key themes and characteristics embody a story that is especially potent for me.

Today I am issuing the #PowerofStory challenge because I think we all have key stories that help us to define who we are and stay true to our course. I’m inviting all steem artists to join me in sharing those stories that help to define who you are as a human being!



#PowerofStory Challenge Rules


  • Write a post sharing 3-5 of your all-time favorite stories in any format you would like! Talk about why these stories resonate with you and why they stay with you no matter how you grow or change.
  • Answer the following questions: How do stories help to shape our world? What responsibility do “storytellers” or artists have to tell stories that affect the world in positive ways?
  • Use the hashtag #powerofstory in your post so I can find it and see what you have to say! Also, would love if you dropped a link here in the comments too!
  • Challenge 3-5 other steemians to participate in the #powerofstory challenge.

And now, for those stories that will stay with me no matter where I go, or how I age!


Lord of the Rings


No matter what happens, there will never be another story that will ever effect me as deeply as Lord of the Rings. This is not hyperbole, to me, this is the perfect story.

The first book I can remember was The Hobbit, which my Dad read to me when I was about 5 years old. The book itself was old, brown, and tattered--and I wish that I had managed to keep it somehow as a memento. As I grew older I graduated past The Hobbit and read LOTR on my own for the first time when I was about 12. I was pulled in immediately by the story of a grand adventure, and heroes that operated with utmost integrity and courage in the face of incredible peril.


Image source


I read the entire LOTR series at least 8 times in its entirety before I turned 16.

I think that the values upheld by these characters became rooted in my very bedrock. I still believe in integrity, courage, and perseverance as key pillars in my identity--and I’d be lying if I didn’t recognize ties to this story in many of my emotional responses to the world. What is more, I have incredible respect for Tolkien as a writer--someone who created a world of epic proportions as a metaphor illuminating the perpetual struggle between good and evil on all planes of existence. Plus, he also invented his own elvish language which is just rad.



I even have the tattoo to prove my love.

This was the first tattoo I ever got, which says the road goes ever on and on, a quote from both The Hobbit and LOTR. For me it symbolizes remembering that we have started on a path, and we must follow it if we can no matter what: with courage, compassion, humanity, and heart (remember those words from @TheNewAlchemists mission?).


Peter Pan


Peter Pan reminds us to never grow up.

Now, that’s not necessarily always a good thing. I’ve oft heard the criticism of my millennial generation that we refuse to grow up and accept adult responsibilities. But that’s not what I think Peter Pan is really saying. To me, this story reminds us to keep that vital spark of childlike imagination, wonderment, and faith alive within ourselves.


Video from MovieClips


No one reminds us better of this than Robin Williams in this scene from Hook (an adaptation of Peter Pan).

In this scene Peter has gone back to the real, adult world to experience love and having a family of his own. However, when his children are kidnapped by Hook, Peter must return to Neverland to save his family. As an adult, he has forgotten how to have an imagination and how to play--his ability to save his family rests with his ability to tap into a more childlike, creative place within himself. This is one of my constant mantras as a Teaching Artist and human--I spend a lot of time and energy rekindling this feeling within myself and I have often used Peter Pan as an example for myself and others of this attribute.


Image by Tina Tarnoff


Eaten Voices


Eaten Voices, written by TNA member @LaviniaRoberts, was the first play I officially directed after graduate school.

It was a defining moment for me because it my first opportunity to put all of the theory I had learned about creative collaboration, equity, representation, and authentic art-making into practice--and it paid off. It was an incredible experience and the play has since gone on to be produced internationally and I’ve been able to work with it again here in Seattle!


Full production recording of Eaten Voices (2012)


While the story primarily follows a young girl named Leona traveling through night towards day, the character that sticks with me is the Moth.

In Eaten Voices, the character of the moth is drawn inexorably towards the light, even though it will mean his destruction. That being said, going to the light is his purpose, and because he is clear on his purpose his path is already set and he is at peace. To me, there was something about directing this piece and creating this character that set me on my purpose and now this story is part of my very core. I may even get a tattoo about it and share the photos with you soon!



And now, for the rest of the #PowerofStory Challenge points!


How do stories help to shape our world?

As some of you will already know I’m a big fan of Joseph Campbell and his work in cultural anthropology. He identified a global “monomyth”, i.e. a pattern followed by all cultures wherein storytelling moves through specific plot points. I am fascinated by Campbell and his work because I think that stories and myths help us to capture the cultural zeitgeist, reinforce ethical frameworks, and inspire individuals and communities to action.

What responsibility do “storytellers” or artists have to tell stories that affect the world in positive ways?

I think if you have a “platform and a microphone”, i.e. a blogging platform, youtube channel, theatre company, or other way of reaching an audience than you absolutely have a responsibility to consider the ripples of change and/or action that your words or stories may create in the world around you. When we look at someone like Donald Trump we see an extreme example of what happens when someone misuses their platform, and uses the power of storytelling to negative effect. Artists are people trained to tap into human empathy and play with human emotion in powerful ways--I believe that with great power comes great responsibility.



Challenge 3-5 other steemians to participate in the #powerofstory challenge.

I love knowing what stories shape people and help them to define and view the world around them. I think it’s a fascinating window into who someone is and I’m really excited to read potential entries for this challenge. In no particular order, here are a few people who I’d love to hear from if you have time!


Thanks for checking out the #PowerofStory Challenge folks, even if you haven’t been personally invited (yet!) you’re are SO WELCOME to join us and write your own post!



FYI, All unlabeled photos from Unsplash

View more of my recent work

Logo Contest | Design the ArtSearch Logo for @TheNewAlchemists!
Hikes of the Pacific Northwest | Photo Album
From Full Time to Freelance and How I Got Here
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 07
Exploring the Big Four Ice Caves | Photo Album
Passing My 500 Followers Milestone and How I Got Here!
ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 04
The Art of Self Care | 5 Essential Tips
The Hero with a Thousand Faces: a monomyth
An Afternoon Jaunt to Wellington Ghost Town | Photo Album

Proud member of





SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks lily for your work and for this project. I am working on a project with Katy Savage examining different films, shows, etc that either examine or even spread propaganda. We will get more from storytelling the more we realize stories and art is more than mere words on a page or people speaking. Stories are reflected life.

Stories are absolutely reflected life. Thanks for stopping by to read this post and for being out and about in the community!

Awesome post! :) Stories can be very powerful. I think what I like best is that they can be passed down from generation to generation so that it keeps whatever the point of the story is, alive. That goes for those passed down through a family. As far as sharing on a platform, I think that words are extremely powerful, especially through a story. It has the abilitiy to stick with someone for a long time if it relates to them in even the slightest way. Therefore, all stories should be positive, have a positive ending or have some real morals and meaning behind it. I loved your choice of stories!

Thank you for stopping by to read and check out this post! I so agree that there is real power in passing stories down from generation to generation -- it’s our earliest form of history keeping and it continues today! Not only in publications, but also in families and in how people honor their traditions. Beautiful point, appreciate your thoughtful reply!

Inspiration!! :)

Thank you so much for stopping by to support! <3

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how easy it is to get them or visit us on Discord

do i have to join too

You don’t have to, only if you want to. Challenges on steemit are just “for fun” if they inspire people to write a post.

Great post! I love the way you approach your vision of how the world should be headed. I'm Venezuelan and I do not speak English, I had to help with the Google translator, a thousand apologies if there are errors in this translation. Your incredible challenge, I will be following you already because I love how you write and describe. A big greeting and my best wishes because this beautiful challenge is a success, a big hug from Venezuela!

Well thank you much, I greatly appreciate it!! I have semi-okay spanglish skills and I’m happy to Google translate too--so please to meet you and followed back!

What a restless human being that you are!
Very interesting initiative, I am intrigued to see what will come up by that.

Restless is a good word for it, thanks for stopping by to check this out. :)

What a beautiful idea. And right on with the LOTR. Totally agreed. It's the perfect story. It has everything. That would have to be on my list for sure.

<3 <3 <3 Thanks for popping over to check it out and support. Love meeting other LOTR fans!

My pleasure. My dad introduced me to them too, and my brother still reads them every year. My first child read them years ago, and now the second one is reading them.
Also, even though the movies weren't as good as the books, they were also amazing and are also a family tradition. I'd marry Viggo Mortenson in a heartbeat.

I love this! If I ever have kids it’ll be one of the first ones they read too, haha!

I'm feeling LOTR too! Thought the same as you @solarsupermama when reading this. It's amazing how some stories stay in your heart and mind for years after first encountering them (I would say the rest of your life, but I'm probably not old enough to say that yet, haha). I still get that warm feeling and excitement when I see the movies or think/talk about The Hobbit, or LOTR, or some of the other great stories -which I'm not going to reveal since I might take part in this challenge later...

You should totally take part in this challenge if you can! Love the LOTR love that is happening in the comments on this post, haha, makes my day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58