[NEW THEATRE: Eaten Voices] A fairytale about a girl, a moth, and the child of the moon

in #performance7 years ago (edited)

ev10.jpg

We all have that one artistic project in our past that is near and dear to us for whatever reason. A defining moment if you will. This was mine. It was a chance to direct a new play fresh out of grad school. At the time I didn’t know what to do with my newfound freedom, the world was a blank canvas and I was terrified. This project gave me direction. As I’m new here, I figured I’d open up this little piece of my heart to you! <3


[EATEN VOICES]

Leona, a plucky young girl, is trapped in night, being followed by unknown creatures.


She meets a child, a child who knows nothing, and decides that he must be the Moon’s Child. Together, they travel through night, a place of stories, song, dance, masks, and mystery, heading towards day. As Leona approaches day, she begins to remember the trauma of her past, why she retreated into the night, and what she will need to do to return to day.

[FULL VIDEO]


The brainchild of New York playwright Lavinia Roberts, Los Angeles composer Ahmed Alabaca, and Seattle director Lily Raabe, EATEN VOICES won “Best Play in Festival” at New York’s Thespis Theatre Festival in 2012 for its World Premiere. Since its first production the play has gone on to be performed at Dixon Place (NYC), Goblin Baby Theatre Company (London, UK), and the Arts in Nature Festival (Seattle, WA). More photos and info here.

*Hi! I’m Lily, an artist, and new to steemit. Check out my work, or find out more about me! :)

Sort:  

Directing is a big responsibility. How is it going?

So far so good! I have a show coming up in Seattle soon that I’ll be posting about! :)

upvoted this post using minnowbooster done by photographer1, goodluck to you! Its very nice to meet you

Wow, thank you! :) Looking forward to finding more theatre folks on steemit! :)

Congratulations @lilyraabe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

have a nice day

You got a 7.81% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @lilyraabe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55