Positive Reflections: Taking Responsibility For My Choices and Actions, A Lesson From My Autistic Son

in #positivity7 years ago


Image Source

The position that we are in now is the result of the choices that we have made and the actions that we have taken in the past. This is true regardless if it is our health condition, our financial position, the state of our mental health or the state of our career. A lot of us refuse to take responsibility for the position that we are currently in but instead like to play the blame game. In the blame game, we are victims and we blame others, our circumstances or make up some excuses for our current state of affairs. We feel that others are able to do better because they are luckier or they have a more loving and supportive family.


Image Source

We often fail to realize that choices we made and actions we take on a daily basis will have a cumulative impact on us in the long run. These choices and actions can relate to routine, mundane or critical matters for example to:-
Exercise more
Eat more healthily
Turn up to work on time
Start a savings and investment plan
Take self-improvement courses
Place more importance on family and friends
Watch less TV
Staying off the couch
Start investing in oneself
Take pride in the quality of the work that we produce
And the list goes on.

Once we acknowledge the power of our choices and actions, we will realize that we do have a choice no matter what circumstances we are in. Whilst it is true that we have no control over what life throws at us, we do have a choice in how we choose to respond to that situation.

Let me give you an illustration. I have an autistic son Jonathan, and that is beyond my control. But how I choose to respond to my situation of having an autistic son is entirely within my control. I must admit it was very difficult and painful. There was a lot of un-empowering questions that I asked myself such as Why me? Why is life so unfair? What have I done to deserve this? After a period of anguish and soul searching, I realized that I have no control over my son’s autistic condition, but I have total control on how I can help him and others in similar situation. To cut the long story short t, my wife Roselind and I founded the Sarawak Autistic Association together with other parents of autistic children. My wife was the founding President while I was the founding Vice-President. Today, the Association (the name has been changed to Kuching Autistic Association) has its own premises and offers various therapies and intervention programs to more than 80 students.


Premise of the Kuching Autistic Association.
Image Source

Therefore, if you are not satisfied with the situation that you are in now, take full responsibility for your choices and actions. Do reflect on what better choices and actions that you take to improve your situation. Don’t be a victim and take massive action today.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Color Challenge ThursdayGreen: The Garden Of Peterhof, St Petersberg
I Need Your Help: Please Vote For My Nomination For @jerrybanfield Upvotable Contest
The Value Of My Post Is Not Determined By Its Earnings
God Is Love
Hidden Gems Of Magnificent Moscow: Canteen 57

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Great post. Loved reading it. Upvoted and following u as always. Regards Nainaz

Very well said. It's easy to keep a victim mentality, even justified. But it doesn't do anything to make the situation better. As much as we may feel things are not fair, all we can ever do is find something productive to do in the present moment.

Sorry I've lost you in the sea of steemians, I am trying to reconnect with all the interesting people who I failed to stay on touch with.

I am glad we are re-connecting now. I am following you.
It is very easy to fall into a victim mentality, make we need to see something positive in every event. As the saying goes, every cloud has a silver lining.

Great post ! So true in taking responsibility for your actions and to not become a victim ! We can all take action to improve our situations if we try !! Thanks for sharing with us in the popcontest ! ✌💕👍

I love the attitude. I also agree whether we know (how) it or not we do create our own life. Although sometimes it is hard to add illness to that.

Thanks for your support and for dropping by. It is hard where an illness is involved but when you are the one who is taking of the sick person, you can still have a positive attitude.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

This is a great lesson. In 12 step programs, they have a similar outlook in terms of not trying to be the director for everything and letting your higher power take are of the things you cannot. The idea is that you accept the reality and in accordance to how your higher power would have you act.

Thanks for sharing this valuable lesson.

#resteembotsentme

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

The results today of my past actions have brought me peace and love
Only work for my f

Then you are in a good place. You past actions have paid off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66903.90
ETH 3098.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67