Is Ideology Used to Divide Us?

in #politics7 years ago

What if Ideologies are one of the best tools used to divide populations?

Image result for divide and conquer
Image Source


Everyone has a way of understanding the world they live in. Whether informed through the media, the education system, or their own research process, ideologies inform our worldview.

Many people live and die by their ideologies. Don't agree with my view on gay marriage or taxes? You're a fascist or communist and essentially are, for all intents and purpose, EVIL.

This is an incredibly dangerous way to live, as anyone is one opinion away from being labeled as an immoral or unsympathetic person.

In our hyperpolarized world, ideologies have become increasingly powerful


Image Source


In the era of Trump, ideologies carry more weight than ever. If you support the Democrats, any scent of a person having right-leaning views can be grounds for terminating that relationship. Conversely, if you're around Trump supporters and show signs of being liberal, you may be viewed as the enemy.

This situation is incredibly dangerous, and tensions have never been higher. It is why the idea of civil war doesn't seem that far-fetched.

What's insane is that most Trump and Clinton supporters share more common ground than they'd care to admit. However, because of ideology, that common ground looks like a demilitarized zone. It's a powerkeg waiting to erupt at the next Alt-right/Anti-fa public gathering.

What do we do about ideology? Don't cling to it.

Image result for ideology
Image Source


I'm not saying give up all ideology, as I think this is naive. Our understanding informs our worldview and becomes a form of ideology. However, we need to attach ourselves less to our beliefs in order to initiate constructive dialogue with 'the other side'.

I used to be vehemently liberal/leftist. I am still sympathetic to many of those ideals, but my belief about how to go about achieving a sense of justice has shifted.

I would consider myself more voluntarist/anarchist than anything at this point, but I am not attached to it like I was with my democratic party membership. I'm comfortable talking to a Trump supporter, a Clinton Supporter, a Johnson supporter, etc., and I can do so without having my emotions guide the conversation (most of the time, I'm not totally emotionless).

Ideology is there to separate, not unify

Silhouette, Couple, People Man, Woman


Strict ideology, much like strict religious dogma, does not allow for much wiggle room in beliefs or conversations. I have seen this wiggle room continually shrink in recent years in America and that's a serious problem.

I believe this was intentional. I believe our ideologies are used against us, to create tension among the public to the point that any honest political debate is no longer possible because it may result in physical violence.

We cannot allow our ideologies to further fracture our world. We must make attempts to communicate with those we strongly disagree with. Especially the extreme elements of the left and right. Non-ideologues must facilitate this conversation whenever possible.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!


My latest Posts

My Best Posts

Sort:  

If the media can get us to point our fingers at each other then they can get away with whatever they want while we're blinded by our rage.

Exactly. They misdirect our outrage and distract us from the bigger scams being pulled on us.

I think it was Zizek who said that the "...crucial thing is to locate ideology where it belongs."

This is a great post.

Thanks! I've always meant to read Zizek, have any suggestions of where to begin?

Try his "How to Read Lacan".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65