Steemit Poetry Contest Returned After the Holidays! #10 Already Here! Steem Up... OK! Now 8 Prizes!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!





I miss you :) So I came back even earlier than I planned... and what did I find? STEEM UP! It's great! Now there are eight prizes - and this is only the beginning! I plan to increase the number of prizes to ten! I really really hope that Steem flies straight to the moon! Good luck and success to ALL!



The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #10 - Growth




About Prizes:


First Place - 8 SBD

Second Place - 7 SBD

Third Place - 6 SBD

Fourth Place - 5 SBD

Fifth Place - 4 SBD

Sixth Place - 3 SBD

Seventh Place - 2 SBD

Eighth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - January 9 7:00 AM UTC






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Big Cosmic Baby


I started as a single cell inside a cosmic storm;
That cell began to multiply, to instantly reform.
I once was small, but heard the call to change and quickly grow;
I held my breath and hitchhiked on the interstellar flow.

I never stopped creating, always growing as I went,
Absorbing the results of all the energy I spent.
Galaxies and nebula appeared as little ants,
The scope of my pure magnitude would shift with every glance.

At last I grew so large that I contained a billion stars,
My belly quite unsteady from a thousand cosmic wars,
Although I once was small and now I am forever grown,
I would not change at all my life; I must not be alone.


Here is my post :)

I love this man, it's amazing

Breathtaking

Thank you so much! That is a downright flattering word ;)

For your reading (and picturing) pleasure! 😍
https://steemit.com/poetry/@carrieallen/steemitpoetrycontest-10-wart

And in case yer too lazy to click over 😉:

WART

It started as just a wee itch.
Some days I'd forget it was there.
Was never a reason to bitch,
Less bothersome than ingrown hair.

With a pop it began to emerge.
Strange dots then appeared on the top.
But prior to singing my durge,
I figured out how it could stop!

I grabbed a banana, I need just the peel.
Some duct tape to hold it in place.
While tightly securing the green to my heal,
I give thanks it's not on my face!

Oh gosh!! I can relate to this feeling! There's this big pimple on my chin hahaha at least someone made it important by making a poem out of it.. How creative and unique!! It's so out of the box, I love your piece.

Lol! Thanks so much!

Though I've not had a wart in a LONG time, last time the hubs started to get one we stopped it by using banana peel and duct tape.
I don't think that would work for a pimple!😆

I wouldn't say I'm a poet, I just enjoy words... and rhyming. Thus, you will probably NEVER see a serious poem from me. I generally write from a place of joy, not angst. So again, I may not be a typical artist. 😉

Thanks for the love!😍

not an entry, just for fun

Oops No Growth


A poetry contest now that's real cool
I knew that I could follow the rules.
A simple thing was to be done,
just some words, that rhyme some.

Rules of three and four,
what an easy way to score.
So I sat and I thought,
what's behind this insidious plot.

Follow the rules don't be a fool,
use your eyes they are your tools.
A poem of growth was first rule,
Now I feel a total fool.

Fun and special way to know that you must be gifted in writing. Why don't contest?

I have an entry down there somewhere, this one was just for fun.


oh boy I'm on it!

So happy to have found this poetry community here on Steemit! I just entered this week! Thanks so much @terrycraft for running this <3

@jessndthesea I love poems but not a poet yet I did try .I Am equally happy to have this poet community

Resteemed and will definitely submit an entry, thanks for giving poetry a place like this on Steemit!

Hi @terrycraft, great topic.
Here is my entry:
Ageshifter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93