SteemitPoetryContest #10 - WART

in #poetry7 years ago

wart.png

Greetings, Steemland!

I've a special treat for you today. I wrote a poem. Not a feeling poem. Nothing with tons of hidden meaning. Just a good ol' fashioned rhyming poem. With a punch line, of course. 😉

My hubs @chrisroberts has been following @terrycraft for a bit now, and somehow, I missed the boat! No worries. I swam up and jumped on. 😉

Terry does a regular SteemitPoetryContest where you can win SBD, but more importantly, meet new folks! The hubs is always talking about it, but I just hadn't checked it out.

Finally, I did. 😀 This week's THEME is GROWTH. Deadline is January 9, 7:00 AM UTC. Wanna do it? Here's the LINK. 😍

When I heard/read this I was all, "Um, ick." I told hubs that growth made me think of a wart or something. And thus, the masterpiece below was born.😁


I wrote this in the car coming back from our monthly shopping trip to the city. He helped me clean it up to perfection. 😍

Enjoy? 😎

WART

It started as just a wee itch.
Some days I'd forget it was there.
Was never a reason to bitch,
Less bothersome than ingrown hair

With a pop it began to emerge.
Strange dots then appeared on the top.
But prior to singing my durge,
I figured out how it could stop!

I grabbed a banana, I need just the peel.
Some duct tape to hold it in place.
While tightly securing the green to my heal,
I give thanks it's not on my face!

Lol!

That was a lot of fun. I hope you enjoyed the journey as much as I did figuring out where it was going to go!😁

😍Have a fabulous today, tomorrow and forever! 😍


New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


Did you LOVE this poem? Are you anxious to learn MORE about me? No fear! Check out some of my recents posts. 😘


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png

the alliance smaller.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

This post has been included in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Do stop in and see what the fam is up to!

I love what you are doing @carrieallen, good poem.
Actually i have learnt than i expected to from this post of yours. Those links for tutorials and improving my steemit experience are awesome.
Keep it up. Bravo.

Thanks, @tesaganewton!

I need to pop over to your page and see what YOU'VE been up to.

Being awesome, no doubt. 😍

Thanks the tutorials are great, my posts are going to be looking much better now.

This was incredibly enjoyable! I guess you could say that wart poetry could really grow on me.

Lol!

Thank you so much! I never thought WRITING about such a thing could be so amusing!

haha your contributions are always amusing ! :D
btw we have a contest at @arabsteem account, and it's open for all, you might want to contribute as I know you just love contests and challenges lol

I went and checked out the contest. (I even gave it a full upvote 😎)

However, it's not clear that it's open to anyone. It really seems like it's for Arabic folks. Which is cool... but you MAY not have noticed... I'm not Arabic😏

I know a few words and a song in the language, but my skin is about as white as it gets without being Albino! 😄

I don't wanna ruffle any feathers by entering.

And really, this is coming the day after I've had to help a DEAR friend deal with some crazy crap re: cultural appropriation. Oh... that term... It's like the goal is to get everyone in a tiny little box and never let anyone see into anyone else's box. So weird.🤔

Anywho- I know YOU aren't like this, but those that are may come out of the woodwork to stand up for (in this case) the Arabic community.

It's a hard, sad line I walk as a super-friendly whitey. Outside of here people are pretty rude just based on skin color. I'm super glad I've not noticed anything like that here yet. I suppose it's on my mind from this weekend's Facebook fiasco. 😒

Maybe I'm being crazy. Maybe I'm just scerred. I mean, I'm pretty sure that's the goal of the Social Justice Warrior, though that's not even clear.

I'll support y'all...from afar for now. 😉

hahaha Carrie, it is open for everyone .. trust me, i created it LOL. I am the founder of arabsteem project and key supporter :) and no one is being offended by anyone's contributions, we are all here together on steemit
Says here:
"Today, we thought about bringing some more fun to all steemians"
https://steemit.com/arabsteemchallenge/@arabsteem/2yradj-arabsteem-selfie-challenge-15-steem-award
I'm gonna add some more notes to highlight that it is open for all, if you missed it, others might have as well !
While I am trying to help and grow Arabic community here, but the ultimate purpose is to assist steemit overall grow as well :)
I am waiting for your submission, your husband's too, if you please :D and feel free to spread the news too lol

Okay. Okay. You've convinced me. Plus, I really like meeting people from other parts of the world...

Let me go get my best antique-y looking objects....😍 Or maybe something that I hold dear, but no one else does. 😁

Well, now I'm all excited. Look what you did!


(OMG. That Bitmoji is awsome.)

hahah love your enthusiasm ! :D

hahahaha, funny indeed! Nice Job! Good Luck

Thank you! Welcome to Steemit!

Be sure to check out my Pimp Your Post blog (found above) to help you learn Markdown. It will make your posts look awesome!

I stopped by your page to give you some upvotes in support of your cool contest and I found poetry stuff...I LOVE POETRY. Cool Beans :) I hope you do well in all of your Steemian endeavors because I get the vibe that you are super good for this platform. :)

Thank you so much!

Early on one of my limericks got hit by a whale. It tickled me pink. 😍

I actually got second place in the contest on this one. My husband @chrisroberts got first, of course. 😏

I really LOVE this platform. It basically feels like it was built for me. 😉

And THANK YOU for the extra upvotes. I wasn't expecting such a response on my contest. Every little bit will help. I'll be posting for awhile JUST to pay everyone out.

How's your commenting going? Have you made some new, exciting connections?

Good one
I participated in this contest also
But you just lifted up the bars
Good luck :)

Thank you!

Good luck to you!

I entered that contest also, but my poem was not as good as yours.

S'ok. Practice makes... better. 😉

Plus, rhyming literally happens in my sleep. And being married to @chrisroberts sure does help. We are quite the hilarious duo. 😆

And to be fair. Chris DID help me tweak this one, but I didn't help him on his. #dudesgotskills 😎

I've been practicing and sometimes I get poems in my sleep and have to wake up and write them down. Twice now I have thought up songs while laying down, trying to sleep. If I could remember my dreams, I'd write those down too.

I dream pretty much all night, but upon waking only remember what was going on long enough to figure out where I am (in my bed...). I wish I could remember, though, to be honest, I've not tried to DO anything to help remember them. 😏

That was a good humorous poem, it gave me a chuckle.
It sounds like something I might have written, had I thought of it. LOL

Thank you!

THAT comment got you a new follower. Always fun to see a similar craziness in others. 😀

Also, your description.... TOTALLY me. Well, I'm not an old fart... yet... and dabble in gardening, but have plants (I live in a high mountain desert)... so I guess it's just the sort of a musician... part. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53