Steemit Poetry Contest #10 - Big Cosmic Baby (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

Untitled design.jpg

Here is my entry in the Steemit Poetry Contest, sponsored by @terrycraft. Thanks, Terry, for hosting the best poetry contest on Steemit!


Big Cosmic Baby

I started as a single cell inside a cosmic storm;
That cell began to multiply, to instantly reform.
I once was small, but heard the call to change and quickly grow;
I held my breath and hitchhiked on the interstellar flow.

I never stopped creating, always growing as I went,
Absorbing the results of all the energy I spent.
Galaxies and nebula appeared as little ants,
The scope of my pure magnitude would shift with every glance.

At last I grew so large that I contained a billion stars,
My belly quite unsteady from a thousand cosmic wars,
Although I once was small and now I am forever grown,
I would not change at all my life; I must not be alone.




Sort:  

Nice work! Now that is growth. :-) Single cell to galaxies and beyond.

Thanks! Yeah, with a few more stanzas I probably would've started smaller and ended bigger, but you work with what you got. ;)

This is a delightful poem - I love it! I'm following you now as well.

Your post the really pretty much. I your all the posts very like

Thank you for reading! I hope 2018 is great for you :)

„To love does not mean just to like someone.
it signifies belief and knowing the truth.

To love means to forgive and shake hands again,
it stands for sharing one’s soul and heart.“

"...but heard the call to change and quickly grow"

Isn't that the game? Knowing what we need to do and where we need to go BUT not being able to get there or do that?

Maybe it's a challenge to procrastination that has been my adversary for as long as I've know I was alive. Keep writing brother.

Cool - a fourteener!!! Love the rhythm!

Ahhh this is so beautiful and wholesome! I was browsing some entries to the contest, but this is a good one (:

A new follower has joined the pack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56