All Alone (Double Tanka, Written in Support of @TARC)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


tarcprintsmall.png

My Rainbow stories are meant to raise awareness regarding animal abuse and abandonment.

A big thank you goes to @damianjayclay for helping me edit and revise these poems. They are a set of two tanka. Tanka are a Japanese poetry form with a fixed syllable count. Originally, the syllable count is set at 5-7-5-7-7. However, I've learned a lot about Japanese poetry from both @damianjayclay and my friend @dbooster.

Among the things I've learned, is that the structure of Japanese is so different from English that it's not very natural to force an English poem into a Japanese syllable structure. What's more, is that English Syllables are much longer than Japanese, so when we adhere to the original syllable count, we're making our poems too long.

@dbooster advised me to try a lower syllable count, 3-5-3-5-5. While I at first expected it to be harder since I now have less space in which to pour my ideas and images, the exact opposite was true. It flows much more easily and naturally with this adapted structure. Anyway. Enough talk. I hope you enjoyed my poem.

Thank you all for reading and for your continued support.

Hugs

Tiny


If you would like to read more of my work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.








The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Hi @tinypaleokitchen, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Wow. Thank you so much @shadowspub. It's an honour to be included.

Brought tears to my eyes. I have a doggy myself, with whom I've grown very, very close this last year, and I couldn't help but picturing the bundle of cuteness that he is all alone, in the cold... It's also something I have to live with everyday, as an often unseen consequence of the economical struggles in my country is the constant abandonment of pets by people who can simply no longer support them...

I'd rather starve together than do that to him, and can't help but feel sorry for each newly formed pack of ex-domestic dogs, some still carrying collars. At least, my community is nice to them, and we all try to make their lives a little easier (even if I've had to run from them one or two times).

Thank you, Chitty. Sad fact is that, when people threaten to starve, pets will come last. While part of me can understand the choices made, personally, I too would rather starve or live in a tent with my dogs than have a roof over my head without them.

Hugs

This is just incredible, Tiny. Thank you so much!

Hope you like it. Hugs

It's amazing. I think we had a sale off the ARC page today.

You did a great job sticking to your desired syllable structure and still conveying your message in a meaningful way. I’m just starting to write poetry and have no idea what I’m doing, so just learning from posts like these. Thanks!

And the poem within the art was a great idea. As is the idea of using this to gain support for @tarc.

Thank you very much @coachjj. If you're into writing, and want to learn more about poetry, come and visit us over at The Writers' Block.

It's what we're all about. Learning from each other. Hope to see you there. Hugs

I just may have to do that. I have a hard time labeling myself as a writer and belonging to a group of writers...I feel unqualified.

If you write, you are a writer. Hugs

Love it!

Thank you! I'm really enjoying tanka and haiku.

First up, I love the poetry, and the image enclosing it. That has a lot of impact. And as for your on going efforts to support rhondak's work, well done. I'm only in a position to assist with upvotes, although I have sent SBD in the past (when I had spare). I suppose every little bit helps.

The vast majority of money I have ever donated in my life has been to animal charities. It is the one things that does get to me when I see the condition some people leave their animals in. Makes me wish I had a self replenishing bank account!

Every little bit helps. None of us is required to give what we can't miss. Your upvote is much appreciated.

Awww! You're so sweet. I'm a big fan of @tarc too! <3

Thanks, honey. Every little bit we can do helps. ;-)

The smallest dog on record was a matchbox-size Yorkshire Terrier. It was 2.5" tall at the shoulder, 3.5" from nose tip to tail, and weighed only 4 ounces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63607.06
ETH 3476.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51