True Love Have I Known [Original Poetry]

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Language lost in the eternal search for meaning

Trapped within the confined space of all that is before me

Slowly unwinding, never forgetting

Trying to piece it all back together once again


Language like lovers lost in an embrace

Unstructured meaning filtering joy to the unfettered soul

In between breathing and remembering to be

Is the joy of begetting this one precious pearl


Traipsing through memoirs, constructing a hope

Breath life into meaning so I can give life unto us

Not dying, not leaving, just slowly believing

Believing in words that I may gift you this song


Once is forgotten but forever will be

That a life lived with beauty will keep the company of me

And words are but whispers, to my ears, to my soul

In my death, in my dying, true love have I known 

 ___________________________________________________________

Some of my earlier poetry:

The Heart of the Shadow

The Mark of Cain

To Soar With Grace

The Beauty of Silence

Thank you for taking the time to read this poetry. 

If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. I try to respond to all comments.

Follow Me.

Sort:  

Wow. Powerful. This poem gave me goosebumps. Your imagery and word choice is PHENOMENAL. The rhythm and format flowed beautifully.

Unstructured meaning filtering joy to the unfettered soul

This is my favorite line. I cannot explain the image that comes in my head very well, but its like a chaotic spiderweb being drawn into the center of a person's head as they move forward through life unconditionally.

Thank you for sharing.

And thank you so much for your wonderful comment. I'm glad you shared what you liked from the poem. I often get imagery just bursting out wanting to be put into words, and that isn't always easy. How to convey imagery and symbolism with words and not sound cliche? I love the image you perceive from these words. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35