Steemitschool Poetry Class - Recording and Notes- Critique Thursday - 22/3/18

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday's class of the @d-pend's Steemitschool 100 Day Poetry Challenge has been the inaugural "Critique Thursday" class. I (was) volunteered to run it. To follow is a recording of the class. It's only sound, but has been uploaded to Youtube due to technical difficulties with D.sound, as well as moral disagreements with their model:

At the 2:03 minute mark I begin my small explanation of critique, and what it is, how to give it, and the two different sorts of critique.

At the 6:08 mark I talk of "Editing Critique," which is where you go over a pre-published piece, with an eye to specific words and sentences, and edit them.
The piece I used as an example here is @whoshim's "Child's Play". Linked was the editing version with my notes.

14:37 is where we discuss "Impressionistic Critique," which deals with a more holistic feedback, including how the poem made you feel, the images it conjured, etc.
I used @carmalain7's "The Uninhabitable" as the example. You can scroll down to see my full feedback in the comment section.

And then we moved to critiquing specific poems:

42:27 brings us the first poem, @tygertyger's "To Thee Who Loves Me".

At the 1:15:55 mark we reach our second poem, @hazem91's "You Need to do Yourself That Service".

At 1:32:25 we get to our final critiqued poem for the class, @pingcess's "Reflection".

We begin wrapping things up at 1:47:30, and speak some more of improving via critique, and especially self-critique.

Thanks to @d-pend for running the challenge, and to everyone who submitted their pieces for critique, or who was willing to offer critique to others. And I hope this will help everyone in the journey to becoming a better writer, and a better critic, in the non-negative sense of the word.



Check out my latest posts:

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The image used in the video has been made by @d-pend for the challenge and is used with permission.

© Guy Shalev 2018.

Sort:  

This is fabulous. I haven't been able to join the live school, listening to this! I feel like I am finally part of class.
I love the idea of empathy. Coming from a good space when giving feedback.
Critique is an art, so true. Transferring that empathy in text is a challenge. Choosing words that clearly communicate, actively help people improve, and still continue to support the person and not diminish their drive.
Thank you.

You're welcome! And apparently all the classes are recorded with a bot or something on the Discord end, but it seems there have been issues with uploading it, so I've taken the steps to record this class.

Empathy is used in a more complex and layered way here. It is not meant to use "be kind," though that is a good place to start anyway, but rather, "Try to see where the other side is coming from." You can't give good feedback without knowing what an author aimed for. So you need to think where they, rather than you, come from, and what their goals for the piece are, rather than where you think it should be.

And I too could stand to learn some things about being more positive and supportive as I try to help people, if I'm being honest.

Also, welcome to the class, at long last :D

What is the model and what is the point of objection?

Dsound takes 25% of your author rewards. For a non-unique service. For a shoddy UI. 25% for basically nothing. And I'm given to understand that the files they host get phased out after a predetermined amount of time. I know it is the case with DTube at least.

Furthermore, they're mostly just another voting scam would-be-whale. They mostly vote for specific people. Often the people who are related to the project, or friends. Or people they think are likely to get a lot of upvotes, to get some of that curation reward.
They do not actually spread their voting to help the minnows, while they take a whopping 25% for nearly nothing. Why not 10%? Why not 5%?

And all this earning they get, doesn't go back to the community, as is at least the case with truly community-facing projects such as Curie and Utopian-io.

Yes just disappears with them after a certain time and I have been slightly annoyed with them of late but I was not aware of the 25% know a lot of stuff makes sense are usually upload to SoundCloud as well as DSound but after hearing this I might avoid l Dsound all the way.... I understand I'm taking some percentage 25% is greedy as fuck

Steepshot at least makes it easier to post, and only takes 10%.

The only real reason to use dtube I feel is for 10-20 second videos you take on your phone and just upload. If it's something longer and bigger, may as well use one of the existing sites online.

Good to know. How did you find that information?

Reading about. You can look at steemd or steemworld to see "beneficiaries" listed for dtube/dlive for instance.

I wonder if we'll start seeing rival dtube types of services on this platform for a while until one rules them all.

Honestly? These would-be-dtube-esques first need to find a reason for me to use them over Youtube. Right now, all they offer to anyone who's not a racist shit-head over youtube is downsides.

I wish all the steemit school classes were recorded and logged! When these classes are goin I’m in depths in dream land , sometimes listing with headphones

Technically they are all recorded! By Discord. And there seem to be some issues with getting them out there.

So I'm trying to at least record the ones I'm running, on Thursdays.

And I hear you, time-zones can be such a hassle.

Such a nice post.. Keep the good work up. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81