You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemitschool Poetry Class - Recording and Notes- Critique Thursday - 22/3/18

in #poetry6 years ago

This is fabulous. I haven't been able to join the live school, listening to this! I feel like I am finally part of class.
I love the idea of empathy. Coming from a good space when giving feedback.
Critique is an art, so true. Transferring that empathy in text is a challenge. Choosing words that clearly communicate, actively help people improve, and still continue to support the person and not diminish their drive.
Thank you.

Sort:  

You're welcome! And apparently all the classes are recorded with a bot or something on the Discord end, but it seems there have been issues with uploading it, so I've taken the steps to record this class.

Empathy is used in a more complex and layered way here. It is not meant to use "be kind," though that is a good place to start anyway, but rather, "Try to see where the other side is coming from." You can't give good feedback without knowing what an author aimed for. So you need to think where they, rather than you, come from, and what their goals for the piece are, rather than where you think it should be.

And I too could stand to learn some things about being more positive and supportive as I try to help people, if I'm being honest.

Also, welcome to the class, at long last :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81