Poetry Sunday: Love and War

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Two of the most powerful relationships humans can have are love relationships and those based on war. Whether caused by hate, politics, geographical disputes, or something else, war is hell. William Tecumseh Sherman reminded us of that.

Of course, anyone who has been in love knows that love, too, has its hells. That's not to say there isn't an upside. But we tend to gloss over the downsides of love and keep the pleasant memories. We do just the opposite with war. For all its hell, it has its benefits.

love and war
Image from Pixabay.

I wrote this poem in June 2015. At that time, I was in an Iraqi desert wishing I was home with my wife. We had celebrated our first anniversary just eight months prior, almost by proxy as I was at Fort Hood, Texas preparing for my year-long tour of duty with Operation Iraqi Freedom. It was a war I neither wanted nor supported, but I had volunteered to serve in the Texas Army National Guard. My number was called, so I did the honorable thing and served my country. I resigned the following December when my unit returned home.

"Love and War" is one of the first poems I had published among those I wrote that year. It won third place in an online contest and continues to linger.

I can't say this is my best poem. There are things I like about it and things I'd change. But poets, like actors and musicians, don't get to choose which parts of their work become others' favorites. It's best just to let them stand on their own, like children, and rise or fall on their own merits.

Cover art by David Anderson
You may notice that I have made a few modifications to it since initial publication. They are too minor to mention, but I state it for the benefit of those who would notice.

If you like this poem and want to read more from this period of my life, "Rumsfeld's Sandbox" is available at Amazon, even if it does have a crappy cover. I need to update my sales page; I've taken the Rumsfeld's Sandbox website off line, but I think you'll love the poems, and I'd be honored for you to read them.

love and war poem

Love and War

All is fair in love and war, they say;
But I am not so sure.
When love hurts it does not kill.
When she maims
She leaves a little something intact;
Though hearts break they can mend.
Time heals all wounds
Except those of war.
When the pain subsides, a scar still marks
Both body and soul.

The greatest battlefield is the human heart,
Moist and fallow and dry
Depending on the season.
Harvests come and go
Just as soldiers on the path,
But little is ever said of a lifetime.

Generals, and privates too, have their petty loves.
Warriors know the depth of loss,
The pain of wanting to be free.
Let Chalabi live, they say;
So much depends on his breath.
But Patrick Henry may die.
And no one loves his country without injury.
Betrayal begins where love and war unite
And ends when bombs begin to fall.
Sometimes knowing is too late.

Give me your eyes and ears,
Lend me your broken heart.
Trade your weapon for an arsenal
Or a stainless steel vessel of love
To guard your palace of peace.
If war be like love and love be like war,
Give me love. Give me just and total love.

Learn More About Me Here

review @blockurator
Review Me, Please

flash fiction

While you're here, check out some of my other poetry:

The backside 5 (my five latest posts):

poetry love and war

You can see more of my musings on my About Me page.


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

">
created and used by veterans
with permission from @guiltyparties



Sort:  

@blockurator

But we tend to gloss over the downsides of love and keep the pleasant memories. We do just the opposite with war. For all its hell, it has its benefits.

It is actually this quote form your prosaic introduction that I found most compelling. There is, I think, a poem in that insight.

In my experience, the War of Love (Divorce & Custody Battle) was worse than anything I experienced in the military. It's a different kind of anguish than what one finds on the battlefield ... and one I found considerably less tolerable.

In real war, one sees humanity stripped of it's thin veneer of civilization ... and sometimes, what you see is a horror. But more often, it is an thing that inspires awe. Loyalty, courage, honor, determination and ... self-sacrifice, when such words actually mean what they say.

There's nothing noble, nor anything than could be interpreted as noble, that emanates from Love Gone Bad (which 99% of the time involves betrayal ... lying, cheating and stealing). Trust ... is a terrible thing to lose, and a monstrous thing to make someone lose it.

“'Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.”

You won't here me say it often (he's an family ancestor), but in this instance, I think Tennyson was decidedly wrong.

Incidentally, a fine poem. :-)

Quill.

Thank you, kind sir. You have a keen eye for detail, and the insight to back it up. I truly appreciate what you bring to the table, and I agree about Tennyson. I have often thought that, as well. Better to have loved and lost ... blimey, only something a poet would say. ;-)

A complex and brilliant poem.

Betrayal begins where love and war unite
And ends when bombs begin to fall.

Verses like those compel the reader to examine concepts like Love, War, Peace, Betrayal - and how we have taken the meaning of such things for granted.

Thank you muchly, Your Kindness. :-)

What a skillfully written poem. You really know what you're doing. I know what good poetry is, which is why I don't write it. But if I could write like you, I wouldn't hesitate.

Thank you very much. I appreciate the compliment. And thanks for reading. :-)

That is such a beautiful piece of writing @blockurator... and I love it even more because of how it was born.

Thank you very much, @jaynie. I like to share a little bit about how the poems came into being, rather than simply post them and go on. I hope a little context adds something to the flavor of it. I really appreciate your comment, and thanks for reading.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blockurator from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76