Music: A Poem

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Since I didn't publish a poem yesterday as I typically do on Sundays, because I wrote about guinea pigs instead, I thought today I'd share a little ditty (no, it's not about Jack and Diane) titled "Music." I hope you like it.

Music


Library of Congress

When Satchmo played
In the early days
Of a time that’s lost its youth

The rhythm of
Our God above
Shone bright as a golden tooth

The harpsichords
And ivory boards
In heart’s harmony did play

With the six-stringed lass
The brazen brass
And a chorus from Calais

‘Tis sweet the Muse
Who lights the fuse
Of a melody made from tears

And on that note
I’d like to quote
A man wise beyond his years

“Most folks go
Where nothing grows
With the music still inside

They never change
Or extend the range
And their song in silence hide”

When Elvis played
In halcyon days
When refrains had lost their jazz

We did the twist
Held stiff our wrists
And danced like a razzmatazz

I'd be honored if you'd check out my other poems:


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



created and used by veterans
with permission from @guiltyparties

Sort:  

Such a lovely song about songs :) It is really nice 💚

This is nice, just reading it makes my feet tap!

Awesome. Thanks for reading.

I really like the finale

When Elvis played
In halcyon days
When refrains had lost their jazz

We did the twist
Held stiff our wrists
And danced like a razzmatazz

It has a real flourish to it kind of like a good big band ending. :-)

Thanks. That means a lot. I'm glad you like it. This was fun to write, and once I got started, the music took over.

Enjoyed reading this. Would love to read more of your poetry.

Thanks. Follow me and you'll see plenty.

Oopsies, thought I followed before! Followed! :D

this poem is a fun read. :3

‘Tis sweet the Muse
Who lights the fuse
Of a melody made from tears

Super delightful write, Blockurator:):):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00