DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #23

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

65C4EA24-8573-4803-8DF9-56FD35BB52FE.jpeg

Episode Twenty Three

I am on my way home,
to the cardboard sheets
I use for a bed
under the bridge
on the outskirts of town.

It is dark so no one can see
as I open the dumpster
and rummage for food.

It’s strange
what gives comfort
and where one finds peace.

I start a small fire
watch the orange flames
reflect in the river.

Digging through my backpack
I find ramen noodles.

Water boils in a pot.

My pocket knife
dices the wilted vegetables
I found in the dumpster.

As it all cooks
I shake in the flavor packet
and stir with a spoon.

The river makes gurgling sounds,
moonlight flashes in the ripples.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d
I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE TWENTY TWO
EPISODE TWENTY ONE
EPISODE TWENTY
EPISODE NINETEEN
EPISODE EIGHTEEN
EPISODE SEVENTEEN
EPISODE SIXTEEN
EPISODE FIFTEEN

Sort:  

Beauty in sadness or joy in simplicity is how I felt after your words, well done.

Thanks, just what I had in mind. I checked out your blog, enjoyed and followed.

Daydreaming isn’t a waste of time, as we’re often told, but the gateway to creativity, problem-solving and even to the realisation of our potential. Judith Woods unveils what’s going on when we daydream
https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=7694857583258749121#editor/target=post;postID=5011367649815165568;onPublishedMenu=allposts;onClosedMenu=allposts;postNum=0;src=postname

Man, what life choices did you take from that one edition where you were reminiscing about your childhood? Could this be the reason why you elected to daydream instead? To escape the dreadful reality. There's something so warm about living the simple life, but rummaging the trash is simply no bueno.

I’ve always liked camping and the idea of living off the land. I’ve never been homeless, but when when I see a wandering homeless man with his backpack I tend to romanticize what his life might be like. Where does he sleep, how he finds moments of joy.

A story in poetry. A sense of sadness, yet acceptance comes through. The reality of the situation dancing with the gentleness of the tone.

A sad story with moments of joy, sleeping under the stars, enjoying the river.

It’s strange
what gives comfort
and where one finds peace.

It is strange, amazing the way your words swim into each other like that river. The way you mix pathos and happiness. I've missed Daydreams for a while but I'm definitely going to catch up. Keep being brilliant, bro.

Ha ha, I’ll try to be a bright star shining over the African plains.

lol. You do that.

Your inspiring words of my dear friend.
I want to read it again and again. Your Prose really touches my heart. congratulations :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46