DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #16

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

03E8C5BB-8D7D-4738-A940-8F9342DFF5D5.jpeg

Episode Sixteen

It’s been snowing for weeks,
breaking all records,
impassable drifts,
doors frozen shut.

In the womb I was warm,
rolled on my back
and reached
into darkness
to feel beyond
what was there.

When I marched off to school,
the sun overflowing
with currents of yellow,
barely acknowledged
my shadow
was there.

We should learn
the same things
in a similar way,
or so I was told,
just listen
then raise up your hand
and recite what you hear.

Without power
we laugh at each other,
lite paraffin candles
and cuddle in blankets.

You reach for the moon,
a shiny white marble
that rolls lazy circles
in an icy glass bowl.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d
I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE FIFTEEN

Sort:  

DAYDREAMS is back!

Ha ha, yes it is. I didn’t feel like writing when I was sick, but it feels good now.

Definitely is. Glad to have it/you back, bro.

my wife said you were a great and talented writer!
you really are. I am seeing that. congratulations :)

Thanks, I am glad that you both enjoy what I do.

Nice, I enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63974.07
ETH 3426.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54