DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #20

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

74461A32-974A-48EA-850F-3C275DCCA8F6.jpeg

Episode Twenty

The garden hose
sends streams of water
into the gutter.

Our shinny red car
is hand washed
in the driveway.

I fold bits of paper
and float them
like boats.

Spinning and dodging
they race
like our lives
without means of stopping.

Father picks up
his sponges
and turns off the hose.

Mother calls us to dinner,
wipes her hands
on her apron.

A song bird calls
from a tree.

The river runs dry,
leaves and small twigs
are tangled with boats
at the edge
of the storm drain.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d
I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE NINETEEN
EPISODE EIGHTEEN
EPISODE SEVENTEEN
EPISODE SIXTEEN
EPISODE FIFTEEN

Sort:  

Great ep wonderful poetry

I always follow your post everything is good if any time visit my blog @mamaathiyya

This reads like a vivid montage, all while you're in the process of cleaning your gutters. I'm glad it was able to ruffle up some memories. Always nice to retreat back to simpler times from time to time.

I always had great fun playing in the street.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37