DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #19

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

773250BD-C66D-443C-8CC3-C5A92ED78C13.jpeg

Episode Nineteen

I am anxious
and walking
through a corn field
behind where I live.

It has rained all day long
and now in the night
dark clods of earth
stick to my soles.

I smell the dank green.

Stalks
reaching over my head,
the cobs
with small eyes
and topknots of silk.

A single engine plane
drowns overhead.

I follow its path,
wonder if he sees me
or knows I’m high
on scotch whiskey.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d
I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE EIGHTEEN
EPISODE SEVENTEEN
EPISODE SIXTEEN
EPISODE FIFTEEN

Sort:  

This is lovely.. I hope to see every episode every week.

Are you high on scotch whiskey?

Haha. This is lovely. Brilliant images and descriptions, plus a nice little touch of humor at the end. I wonder who was higher--you or the airplane?

Probably the plane, I’m actually not much of a drinker.

Great poem... Last words hit me!

wonder if he sees me
or knows I’m high
on scotch whiskey.

Really cool..

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

a poem that is very meaningful, thinks and questions my own life.
a certain way and go into the unknown. Congratulations, my dear friend. I really like it :)

Nice of you to switch gears and paint an outward picture for a change! It's been a while, after a string of introspective ones. Did I catch a glimpse of rare rhyme at the end? You must've been really buzzed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46