Zoned Out (An Original Poem)

in #poem7 years ago

IMG_0154.JPG

Zoned out

We're sitting in our
favourite coffee shop and
you're talking about an
incident with your friends.

I am listening to you,
but your voice seems to
fade away into the
background music of
the coffee shop.

I try to lip read, but I
realise how difficult that is.
I am looking at you.
Your face, your eyes.
And I zone out completely.

I am thinking.
Of how the sun would fall
on my face again
tomorrow morning,
waking me up from a sleep
that I never slept.

How the night would
kill me again slowly.
How my diary had less pages
left and how I was running
out of ways to vent out.

I look at you again.
You're smiling.
Your eyes show that
you are happy.
You take a sip of your coffee,
and show me a
picture on your phone of us.

I can feel the music coming back.
I can hear your voice
over mine, again.
And I look at you and
smile at the picture.

You say,
"Things will be better, soon".
They already felt
like they were.

We left soon.

You, with another happy
memory of today.
And I, with the satisfaction
of saving myself.
Again. .


Last Seven Poems :

Image Source : Pixabay

IMG_9721.PNG


IMG_9731.PNG


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81