Safe (An Original Poem)

in #life7 years ago

IMG_0142.JPG


Safe
I see the sun setting,
remembering how we used
to sit on the terrace waiting
for another day to end,
to start a new one with each other.

I lean my head on the
windshield of the car,
missing the shoulder I had,
staring at the drops of rain falling,
and wonder how different
the rain felt like today.

Walking back home
on a Monday evening,
while listening to songs and
saving myself from the traffic,
I hear your voice in my ears.
Just like the way it used to be.

I remember.
How you had told me,
to live and not just survive,
to smile because you mean it,
to not let your broken pieces
just lie in the corner.

I had cried that day.
Scared.
Afraid to lose so much.
You had asked me to
keep what was left of me safe.

That's why I had to
send you away.
So that I could keep
the only sane part of me safe.


Last Seven Poems :

Image Source : Pixabay

IMG_9721.PNG


IMG_9731.PNG


Sort:  

Thought provoking. The poem is nicely set to help my own storyline possibilities. As I said, very thought provoking.

Thank you so much 😊

Very good poem... like it..

Thanks man! Appreciate it

You welcome... that poems remind of someone special...

Love it..... consider follow me back. I will see coming poem from u.

Done.

The whole poem is sublime, heartfelt, but this line hit me...

to not let your broken pieces
just lie in the corner.

Thanks for sharing.

Glad you liked it :)
Thank You.

Interestingly, I really liked it. Do you mind if I freestyle translate your poem into Russian and show it to my friends? With attribution, of course.

Sure. Go for it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49