Portraits in BW - People of East Timor

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

Portraits in BW - People of East Timor

Mercado Taibessi vendedores 25 old woman portrait bw.jpg

Old people...

marcado taibessi menino portrait bw-2.jpg

Young people...

marcado taibessi thumbs up bw portrait.jpg

There's no generation gap. They all live the way they've been living for centuries. Young always respect and venerate the old. Not a thing many so-called developed countries can say they are proud of these days.

Mercado Taibessi vendedor 1 portrait bw.jpg

Families live together. All together. Big families, several generations, all helping each other to make a living. To put food on the table.

marcado taibessi vendedores 70 masca portrait 1 bw-2.jpg

And they smile. They always smile. And laugh. Like if their lives were easy. Like if they had everything. They smile more, much more than us in the western world. I was no longer used to see or hear people laughing out loud. Or smiling at me and saying good day in the streets, when they pass by. People I don't know and I had never seen before. They smile and greet me. Everyone that crosses my way, no matter their age.

Mercado Taibessi vendedores 52_bw.jpg

God bless these people! People who are deeply devoted to Him!

Yours,

Isabel
@nolasco
HippieSoul

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Photos taken by me.

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

This is such a wonderful post @nolasco Rich in content and value. I can imagine these images and individual stories could be part of a published book depicting life in East Timor. Very impressive work my friend.

Aw, thanks for the wonderful compliment, sweetie! I'm truly happy you appreciated it, it means a lot to me!

These are absolutely beautiful, for how could they be anything else when you are photographing the souls of angels?? I ask you. It makes you want to gather them up in your arms for a group hug.

I was raised in a multigenerational environment in the States (of all places) We had grandparents, aunts, our family and when they were grown and starting out, my father built a cottage on the property so the newlyweds could save everything and buy a house. There were nine kids in my family and honestly, I wouldn't have had it any other way. Our house had 10+ bedrooms, so there was always room, and family was/is very important. Respect wasn't something that I ever thought about, it was never a question of giving it, it was like breathing. You wouldn't think of not doing it.

Your eye is so perceptive, capturing their soul and they are not yet jaded by the Western World, so they can look into your eyes and smile or just look and there is honesty in them. Most beautiful, my friend. I love your work and I love the mono. Tres belle!

Upped and Steemed

@victorbz (nice, yes?)

yes absolutely fantastic series of the portraits of beautiful looking very natural @nolasco
i love the not candid way you took these images
thank you for the mention @dswigle :-)

Aw, thanks, Victor, your words are a wonderful compliment, as you are an awesome photographer. Loved your appreciation! Cheers, my friend!

with my pleasure !

Aw, <3, Victor!

Oh, my dear, it's an honor and a privilege to that you shared your story, magnificently told, with me.
What a wonderful childhood you must have had! No wonder your soul is a soul of an angel, too.
Je vos aime <3!
Thanks, thanks, sweetie!

Amazing stuff, sometimes those are the kinds of places I like to visit.

Would you agree that development came at a high price?

Indeed. The more I know countries like ET the more I realized developed countries lost some essential values for good. I don't know which ones are happier....
You'd love ET!

People in Timor even if they look hard to approach but if you success to make a friendship with them then you will know they are one of the best people in the world.

True, my friend. It's hard to understand them, but once you win their truts they become true friends!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-28T03:15:42
Account Level: 7
Total XP: 7801.57/12800.00
Total Photos: 403
Total comments: 376
Total contest wins: 116
And have also received a 7.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Fantastic portraits of so many lovely people. I live seeing the happiness of their smiles shine in their eyes! Such sincere smiles!

Indeed, my dear Melinda! It's heart melting to see their smiles when their lives are so tough!

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-people" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

FA-BU-LO-SO!!! Tão bonito, minha querida! Esse povo fica para sempre marcado no meu coração! Beijo muito grande cheio de saudades!

É verdade, minha linda! Obrigada e beijos sem fim!

Stunning photographs @nolasco. I love your portrait shots. They are all beautiful. I couldn't pick a favourite today. 😍

Aw, sweetie, thanks so much! Have a wonderful Sunday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14