Migrating Trumpeter Swans - Flocking by the Thousands 📷

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Well the birds are making their great migrations from the north and we seem to live in the path of Trumpeter Swans. There is a huge bird sanctuary set of lakes about 10miles south of us, so we get to see many of the large migrating groups as they travel to/from these lakes.

This is a set of photos I was lucky to get with a simple (manual focus) 300mm lens. I hope you like them.

Note: Click to view larger versions.
Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Taking flight

Off they go, taking flight away from me as they spotted me getting too close.
Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Large groups and pieces of the main flock settle in to eat the grains in the fields.
Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Huge Flocks

These photos were at quite a distance as the huge flocks were about a mile away. However, you can still see these huge flocks of thousands of trumpeter swans on their migration. What was really cool, is these flocks were land in the farmer's fields to eat left over grain and then take up flight again and move on. Some of them circled around and around, which actually blackened out the skies, there were so many birds. It was awfully cool, I've never seen anything like it!
Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

I hope they show again in other seasons, as i'd love to get a chance to photo them all again.

Past Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent photography sets:

Sort:  

Oh you get the white geese....your photos are beautiful....the white flocks against the blue sky is stunning.

Thanks countrygirl. I wish they would stick around longer, but sometimes its just a flock going buy, so I've missed a few not even able to photo them. Was lucky that one day to them on the nice background, even though it was at a distance.

Not geese....swans.....I didn't read it properly...I seem to do that a lot lately. Thanks for not pointing that out!! lol.

haha, now that you mention it. wink. Ya, I kinda knew that was what you meant. They're both white afterall. :)

These are really nice shots! It must have been really awesome to see those flocks!

For sure it was, I've never seen so many birds in my life actually. It was very cool!

Beautiful collection @unipsycho!!! I wish we had more variety of larger birds here in New Jersey. We get way more than our fair share of Canadian Geese, but that's pretty much it. We have swans, but I've never seen them in any great number.

Thanks cognoscere, ya I never had either till living in the country. we get the swans and sometimes big flocks of pelicans as well, probably 30-50 in a group. Another small bird that fees in the fields is a small blackbird, but they flock in thousands so when they come in and take off from the fields, its just a black cloud that sounds like a helicopter, its really cool. They are so fast though, I've never gotten a photo of them.

Nice photos! I really like these swans - they migrate through my area too. They are fun to see when they fly overhead with their long necks. I've heard they like the left over potatoes in the fields around here too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58