Personal Collection of Lightning Storm Photography

in #photography8 years ago

I've spent many hours sitting near thunderstoms at the waters edge to capture some lightning bolts and flashes. These are all my own photos (some of my favorites) I've taken in several storms which massive amounts of lightning.

lightning strike

Technique to Capture Lightning

  • Use a tripod
  • Use a DLSR camera or at least one with long exposure (a few seconds)
  • Burst long exposure shots works the best.

So, I've used continuous shooting for many of these, where the camera simply shoots 2 or 3 seconds endlessly in a row, where I have a good chance of capturing that perfect shot.

The image at the top, was shot very late, completely dark outside about an hour or two after sunset. It was a long exposure of 18 seconds and colors to the left are from the sunset already long gone.

Moonlight Lightning

These next couple were shot around 11PM with an 11s exposure. The moon was just starting to peak out from the thunderstorm cloud and I was fortunate to capture a couple of sheet lightning bolts with the moon.
lightning strike

lightning strike

Massive City Storm

I don't normally get good lightning photos in the city but this collection worked great as the storm was right overhead and had a massive amount of lightning. Most of these were 3 second exposures, but I had my camera running on continuous shots, so it just took photo after photo, capturing some great lightning with the tripod setup. I shot in different directions, which is why you get some varying colors (also from exposure).
lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

lightning strike

Roof Shot

I know, I know, what are you doing on the roof during a lightning storm?? haha, taking pictures of course. Actually my house here had a roof I could get onto from an upstairs window, so that is all I did, I reached out and setup a tripod on the roof, but I was still leaning out the window sill.

This is taken at midnight with an 19s exposure.

lightning strike

Lakeside Lightning

These last couple are shot with a tripod at the lakeside. Both around 10:30pm and using about a 20s exposure.

lightning strike

lightning strike

I've taken many more and have seen some fantastic lightning I never got good shots off, so I hope you like these ones I have to share. Please follow and vote and I'll keep more photos coming.

Sort:  

That's sooo sick! Love your photos!
Keep them coming! :D

Thanks Maxse, glad you like them. I've checked out a few more of yours as well, some good stuff. I have done a lot of parkour as well, so your first photos of that, drew me in. not doing much anymore, but hope to get back at some!

good action-great photos! at the roof under rain you are not a lazy guy)

I love storms.....these are fantastic.....but.....what are you doing on your roof during a lightening storm???????????

also, thanks for the photo tips....I'm going to try this - not the roof shot but the running shots with a longer exposure....some of these have taken my breath away.

haha, I know people would comment on that. Thanks though!

Very fantastic and amazing pictures!

Thanks tangmo, lots of fun taking these. Although very wet. haha

Excellent photography. I have never seen anything like it. Amazing

thanks mate, great memories for sure capturing all of these!

Great shots! I love lightning. And I also film quite a bit of lightning myself. Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and I followed you as well.

Thanks for the comment. Lightning is addictive to watch I find, thanks for the votes and follow, I'll check your stuff as well!

Wow! Great photos!

Thanks @daveks, I've been watching your photos as well, good stuff. Nice to know another local user out there, maybe I'll run into you on a trail sometime! haha! Steem on!

Definitely @unipsycho, next stop Lake O'Hara! Haven't been there yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41