More War Memorial Shots for Remembrance Sunday - free photos for you to use in your posts.

Introduction

These were taken yesterday. Unfortunately it was quite dark by the time I reached the war memorials but it was a good opportunity to test out the low light performance of my camera.

Despite being quite noisy I think these are quite impressive - the minimum ISO I used was 6400. I also feel the dark, dim quality lends a sombre air to the photos which is quite fitting. Sadly the sky was quite clear and not as appropriately cloudy as I had hoped - it did mean I didn't have to worry about rain though.

Feel free to use these in your own posts as per Steemit4free.


The Photos


The First Memorial

This is a traditional angel statue but with a woman mourning at it's feet. I was impressed by how life like it looked. Getting the exposure right here was difficult due to all the shop window lighting in the background.


1


2


3


4


5


6


7


8


9


10


11


12


13


14


The Second Memorial

This is a small one next to the Church - I wasn't able to get many photos as a lot of people walk through here and they kept getting in the way of a clear shot. The little miniature knight is interesting.


15


16


17


The Big WWI Memorial

This is the one with the big bronze sculptures that I posted IR photos of before. By now it was getting very dark and there was a distinct combination of the blue tinge from the dusk light, and the orangey red glow from the street lights and various nearby shops. I have resisted the temptation to overly brighten the images of the sculpture. I feel that in this dim bluish light the figures look even more dynamic and lifelike.


18


19


20


21


22


23


24


25


26


27


28


29


30


31


32


33


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) - @thecryptofiend


Camera: Nikon D800 with Nikon 16-35mm/4 lens.


Photo Credits: All photos are my own unless otherwise stated and free for you to use under the terms of Steemit4free.


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts


Are You New to Steemit and Finding it Confusing?

These resources may help:

  1. For a Quick FAQ - Try this
  2. To learn about Markdown (to help you post) - Try this
  3. Need to know Steemit Etiquette? - Try this
  4. Need some free images for your posts? Try Steemit4free - make sure to check which images it applies to.
  5. Need to talk to a human for help? - Try the chat
  6. Need Mentorship? - Try Steemprentice - here is a link that explains it, and here is the chat channel.
  7. Need a Free Image Host that works with Steemit? - Try SteemImg - it automatically produces markdown and html links for you, as well creating thumbnails and more.
  8. Need to Buy or Sell Steem/SD? - Try this tutorial for Blocktrades.

(Want to use this list in your own posts? - download the text file formatted in Markdown here.)


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30