Tips and recommendations for photographing candy.

in #photography6 years ago

I'm not responsible if you get hungry reading this post...

DSC00849.jpg

Hello how about steemians, happy tuesday for all I hope are well, as usual we start on Tuesdays with a picture of food, or animals in some cases, so I'm leaving you some pictures of some delicious candy I photographed (and I ate them, too) during a family reunion, it is now customary for the family photographer to go to every reunion.

To take these pictures use only my sony camera DSC-HX1 and the tripod, all taken in the natural light of the room, which was very soft as there were enough curtains to act as a blur.

If you're wondering why I used a tripod, that's because when working with ambient light and not having a lot of, I had to work at low speeds, That's why I recommend using a tripod, so we avoid the use of high isos and especially the flash, Let's avoid using it at cost, especially if it's the integrated one, this more than helps us, it damages our image giving a flatter aspect to the composition other than burning our object in the foreground and darkening the background, it is better to work with long exposures, in order to have a more homogeneous exposure.

DSC00838.jpg

Gastronomic photography can be said to have the same principles of macro photography, of which I did a pretty extensive post a long time ago, but let's take a little look around.

  • Remember to use large diaphragm openings.
  • The lower isos.
  • The shutter speed will vary depending on the amount of light available, but if you're too slow, remember to use a tripod.
  • Don't forget the focus, try to work in manual mode, use the automatic only when the occasion requires it.
  • Avoid using the flash.

DSC00839.jpg

Coming out of the technical part, let's talk about the composition, if you take pictures on a candy table like in my case, take into account colors, especially if it's a child's birthday, candy tables on birthdays are usually loaded with a lot of colors, so you'll get a very cheerful contrast of colors as there is so much variety.

Also, don't forget that sweets have many different shapes and there are always different types of sweets at a party, so don't just focus on the ones in your foreground, you can add a touch of showiness to your photos by putting other candies in the background, with this you can add other shapes and colors to your composition.

DSC00850.jpg

In this picture you can see how the cake in the background adds more information to the photo.

With so much candy on a table, it's easy to lose sight of yourself, so despite everything I've already mentioned, we must always have one as our main objective, to which we must give prominence in our photo, there are many ways to do it, you can use lights, color contrast, textures, shapes, planes, among others and if you combine them you have a world of open possibilities.

DSC00851.jpg

In this photo you can see how the candy that the white paper carries stands out above those with red paper, this is a type of contrast by color, which gives prominence to our object.

DSC00841.jpg

In this one I added more clarity in editing, which is also a way to make an object stand out by taking advantage of the high lights, although it can also be applied with shadows.

Getting a good picture is much more than just pressing a button, is to tell a story with light, your photos talk a lot about you, they reveal what you see, no need to express words when you let your eye speak for you...

TuneaTaringa.blogpot.com (18).png

If you like the world of photography and videos, want to learn or just get inspired for a while, you can see more of my work in instagram or follow me on my blog, where I share my experiences and tips, for those who love photography.

BANNER.png

Soon I will be uploading more content, remember that every week I upload a new video to my Dtube channel, be careful, there are surprises coming, I'm starting a new project with my partner that I hope you like, see you soon, thanks for reading the post, if you liked it please upvote, comment that you liked it and share it with your friends!

Upvote-Logo.png

The images or videos that I use in my blog are made by me and I own all the rights of them, of which in the majority I use my personal logo to identify them, to make use of some image or video foreign to me, always I limit the source of the same one.
This post is the English translation of my previous publication, it's all content is my authority, I apologize for the translation errors, I'm not good with English.

Link to my previous posts, in English

Sort:  

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T12:05:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 374.80/400.00
Total Photos: 49
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.44 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Thank you for being so patient! We’re slowly catching up with our SP! Almost There!

Most recent user guide released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69