🍒 The Dancing Nopal: Photography and Some Interesting Facts About the Nopal 🌵

in #photography7 years ago

MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante Cover.jpg

Hello Fishes of Steemit 😊

I haven't posted for over 11 days now and I don't like it at all, I've experienced some health problems that have prevented me from being active on Steemit, I will talk about this later on another post, for now I will post today some photos I took not too long ago, to let you all know that I'm alive and well.

A VERY MEXICAN PLANT

Inspired by recent holiday celebrations on my country Mexico, I chose some pictures in which the star is a plant that is very representative of my country, so much so that we even have it on our national flag, this plant is called Nopal and the scientific name is Opuntia ficus-indica according to Wikipedia.org, the variety of Nopal that I photographed, althoug this is not the edible kind, but it does produce some edible fruits, called Tunas.

On Wikipedia.org I found that the Nopal is from the Cactaceae Family and investigating on Wikimedia.org I found that it belongs to the Subfamily Opuntioideae from the Tribes Opuntieae with a the Genus Opuntia Mill, from there I got to the subspecies of Opuntia there where a lot of them and I decided to stop my search there, because the Nopal that I have is so young that I'm not able to identify its subspecies yet.

SOME BENEFITS OF THE NOPAL

Looking for info on the Nopal online, I ran into an article that mentiones some of the uses that science has discovered for the Nopal, some of them I already knew and others I did not, anyway all these discoveries are great:

  • It transforms infertil lands into fertil lands
  • It can be used as Sunscreen
  • There are plastics made out of Nopal
  • There is a Nopal Shake to counteract the effects of Diabetes
  • It can generate energy
  • Entrepeneurs have developed organic paint made out of Nopal

You can read more about these discoveries in an article in Spanish on MientrasTantoEnMexico.mx

THE PHOTOS OF THE DANCING NOPAL

Now that we are more familiar with the Nopal plant, I want to talk about the pictures I took, I named the photo series "The Dancing Nopal", because of the way the plant grows in a curved way, it made me think of a ballerina, I really do believe that desert plants are beautiful and in my city of Hermosillo, there are a lot of people that have only Cactaceaes in their gardens, because they require very little water so they are of easy maintnance.

Anyway, going back to the pics, they where taken on July this year, with a NIKON D3200 camera in my backyard, the day was cloudy because it just rained, you can see on some of the photos the raindrops running through the leaves of the Nopal, for me that gives them a special something.

I know that today is not Thursday, but I wanted to take advantage of the hashtag ThursdayGreen, because I want to complete the #ColorChallenge by @Kalemandra, I'm only missing a few more colours to finish it, well I hope you like the pics and the info.

🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵

DSC_7059 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_6997 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7001 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7009 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7014 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7022 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7046 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_7049 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

DSC_6994 MariaCherries El Nopal Danzante.jpg

🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵 🌵



Si eres hispano tu querrás votar como Witness por @Cervantes, porque ellos apoyan el crecimimiento y desarrollo de la comunidad hispanohablante en Steemit, además contribuyen haciendo mejor a Steemit.com mediante la creación de comunidades, la curación de contenido original y de calidad, reportando plagio y abuso, etc.

Y si eres Mexicano sigue también la cuenta de @Mexico-trail para que te unas a la comunidad mexicana en Steemit y para que estes al tanto de concursos y eventos para nosotros.




OTHER PHOTOGRAPHY POST I HAVE DONE:

MariaCherries Photoshoot BW Girl3.jpg
Photoshoot with Liliana

MariaCherries Cover Striped Sunset I.jpg
Striped Sunset part I
Striped Sunset part II

DSC_6285 MariaCherries TuesdayOrange.jpg
ColorChallenge TuesdayOrange Flowers

anigif.gif
#TreeTuesday DarkTreeSunshine

ENTROPIA COVER by MariCherries crushed font.jpg
Entropy a Photo Series About Time

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

POST IT, STEEM IT, EARN IT

... FOLLOW MARIA CHERRIES 😘 ...

READ MY INTRO POST HERE ---> This is Me Introducing Me


All photos ©Copyright 2017 by Maria E. Rodríguez M., All Rights Reserved.
Gifs via https://giphy.com

Sort:  

nice captures, hope you feel better!

Thank you I appreciate the good wishes 😊

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41