Kombucha Chronicles Update: First 5 Gallon Brew

in #food6 years ago

I've got just one photo to share for this one but it's a good one. I've had this jar for a few months but due to the fact that I've been chronically behind on everything I've neglected to put anything in it until recently. It's my biggest vessel topping out at 5 gallons. I have two smaller vessels of the same shape that have about a 2 gallon capacity and this thing makes them look tiny.

Full of liquid it's very heavy. I lift it close to me and move slowly to the shelf reserved for my brewing. My house guests literally laughed at me when they saw me move the jar, which is bigger around than I am.

I had some fears about starting so big a brew but checking it now a few days later it looks like it seems to like the big vessel. My only problem now is I soon won't have enough bottles to hold all this brew, somewhat of a cool issue to have.

The cool thing about kombucha is you expand as much as you're ready to. When I get a new vessel I plan ahead and leave extra kombucha when harvesting. I then split the scoby pellicle and brew up between the vessels, then often doubling my capacity. It's really quite cool.

Stay tuned for more updates on my brewing, a lot has been happening!

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Kombucha Chronicles: The Truth Behind the Miracle Kombucha Brew
Kombucha Chronicles: How to Use Kombucha Vinegar and Extra Scobys
Kombucha Chronicles: Scoby and the Continuous Brew

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Sleepy Sammie Cute Dog Photo Shoot
Acapulco 2018 New Years Midnight Fireworks Photo Shoot 5
Blueberry Pistachio Muffin Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the juice of life. A good super probiotic. I myself have started brewing it a few months ago . Salute

I make my own sauerkraut for the pro-biotics. Do you find that kombucha has a similar effect? I've found that Sauerkraut has almost eliminated bloating and heartburn.

Sauerkraut is a different fermented product with different bacteria in it (and no yeast, kombucha uses yeast and bacteria) but the effects are often similar. Fermented foods in general help with bloating and heartburn :)

I like all fermented drink. Its good for digestive system.

I respect all fermented drinks...liking them is another matter LOL For example so far tepache isnt for me even though i thought Id love it.

ohh, i got it. People has different taste of drink. To me, I love fermented drinks just because it relieve my bloating issues.

I love kombucha! I have a friend that makes it all the time. It seems each batch gets better and better. Looks great!

You badass! that's a big ol tub of buch, I'm sitting down to a glass right now, this is one addiction I don't think I'll ever kick

Hey thanks for the love. I've been selling it locally and am a bit addicted to the hobby. It's like my fizzy pet lol

I love Kombucha it always feels so nice in my stomach.

I haven’t made Kombucha yet but it’s on my list!! I have made numerous alcoholic beverages at home in my spare time from Cider to Mead...but I this one I have not tried.

Yogurt and Kombucha are both on my to do list!!!

that's funny, mead is on MY to do list LOL

You had me at Kombucha!! Whenever I go to the store I always buy a kombucha drink. For some reason it seems a little scary to make it, but I'm interested to learn more.

Go to kombuchachronicles.com for my series on how to brew. It's remarkably easy.

Beer is made by men, wine by God

Never really liked kombucha :D. And I think it's a little scary, looks like a jelly fish. But great post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56299.59
ETH 2984.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22