Farm Update: Lily Gets Adorable Favorite Silkie Chicks

in #gardening7 years ago

DSC_0414.jpeg

I've been dreaming of silkies for months and a few days ago I finally got two chicks for the outrageous price of 1200 pesos each, more than 50 USD. Silkies are a breed of chicken with special feathering, feet and they're actually black chickens meaning they have black skin and meat. They're known for being extremely sweet birds and have the extreme tendency to go broody, sitting on anything remotely egg shaped.

We've named the black one Pepper and the white one Salt. I left the light off in their area one night and they've developed a cold that they're fighting. Due to their young age the sickness is more than a little worrying but we're doing everything from giving them garlic and kombucha infused water to fresh air and sunshine, to chest rubs to help them breathe better.

Look at those cute feet. These are a chinese breed originally, not sure how they ended up with their interesting characteristics but I do like them.

They're known for the unique feathering, earning them nicknames like Puffbutts from enthusiasts. There are a lot of people out there that are a little obsessed with these birds, and I'll admit I kind of understand why.

Extra toes and furry feet.

The story behind getting these is cool. We mentioned to a friend that we wanted these special chickens but they were only found in places like Mexico City which is a far way away from here by our standards. He offered to get them for us while he was there this past week and he actually did, even driving two extra hours to see these two little guys. He delivered them that night and other than the fact that they are sick (which is likely my fault) I'm really happy with them.

So for now I take care of them and hopefully in a few days their cold clears up and they start getting healthy again. Their young age makes it so there's the chance they could die from it so we shall see. We aren't interested in giving them antibiotics, which is why they've been getting the garlic water.

Salt is a little dingy, but I'm hoping they grow up to be healthy and beautiful. We aren't sure of the sexes but we're hoping for a boy and a girl.

silkie-chickens--30013.jpg

whtsilkie1_1_.jpg

For anyone interested, these are some photos of adult silkies I found on Google. Not only are they useful, but they are ridiculously adorable.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!



In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:



Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Wow they look very hairy haha. Hope their getting better now!

These two have kept me more on the edge of my seat than a horror movie LOL. I think they're getting better and they're sneezing and gasping for air...currently they're finding the weirdest sleeping positions they can as they are clearly starting to feel better. I think they're trying to freak me out by playing dead, just to jump up without even a sneeze.

They also started getting chatty today, a sign they're getting better too :)

Great to hear. Can't wait to see the as there grown hairy ball state :)

As of this morning they seem much better, maybe a photo post with what I did to help them to come today! If not within the next few days.

Right on ! sounds good !

Amazing looking chickens. more for show than to eat I would think... I would just eat the eggs or better yet sell the chicks that hatch,, $$$.

Plan is for eggs and to sell the birds :)

Them are some seriously silly lookin chickens! You can't help but smile at those guys I bet :)

They are my puff butts. I spend a few hours a day checking on them partially because they're cute. And now they're getting a little better and chirping again, making them more entertaining

This post has received a 2.29 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @lily-da-vine. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

You got a 0.76% upvote from @upme requested by: @lily-da-vine.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a [STEEM Witness](https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45