Kombucha Chronicles: Labeling Adventures and Selling Kombucha Locally

in #kombucha6 years ago

Finally after getting a printer and the label paper necessary I have designed and printed my own kombucha labels, complete with dank flavor names and descriptions and a warning in both spanish and english to keep in the fridge to avoid explosion.

It was a bit of an adventure to say the least getting the printer working. First off I run Linux and not just Linux but arch based linux meaning that my printer just isn't going to work with my computer at the moment, but I can use it with my phone no problems as you can see. My other issue was that this printer is an ecofill printer, meaning you buy bottles of ink and fill tanks in the printer. I filled the wrong color into the wrong tank first go and John had to spend hours tinkering with it to fix my mistake. But it works, with no issues!

Now this is just a first edition, so to speak in terms of design and end product. Ideally I'd like labels that are better for bottles that get refrigerated. I expected these to run terribly with any sort of humidity on them and I'm right. But they've got that homemade feel and charm and my biggest customer at the moment (since @kennyskitchen left town :P) is Verde Vegan here in town.

I sent these off with the first photo to the female half of Verde Vegan, Amparo, and she loved both the labels and the names. I hope she liked the new flavor too, mandarin, because I seriously did.

The one on the left is the mandarin, a new flavor I'm in love with. I didn't like citrus additions to second ferment in kombucha until I read somewhere its best to add the fruit and the peel to round out the flavor and especially for mandarin oranges this is true. Probably one of my top five favorite kombucha flavors I've had.


I have a bottle return policy that's honestly fairly effective in getting my bottles back to me. There's only been one for sure loss so far and a few people that've held onto their bottles for a long time but for the most part, especially from Verde Vegan and @kennyskitchen (who actually gave me one extra that he used as a water bottle when he returned mine before leaving, thanks again) people return the bottles and as someone with a limited supply, that makes me happy. I'm still reduced to purchasing overpriced beer and sparkling juices to get the bottles they come in.

Note: Not all flip top bottles are pressure rated, meaning that they might not have the capacity either within the bottle, sealing mechanism or both to withstand pressure. I've not had any of my recycled bottles fail but I also don't purchase any that aren't for sure rated. Current rule of thumb, if it doesn't come with carbonated beverages in it already don't use it. Future rule of thumb: look for red or black seals and thick and sturdy glass.

The labels will change over time but its a start and a big start at that. One I'm excited to share. It's more than a hobby now!

If you're in Acapulco, go to Verde Vegan and get one of the kombucha drinks on the menu. It's more like a smoothie or mixed drink with my kombucha instead of alcohol but honestly they're to die for and really pretty.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

The Kombucha Chronicles, Part 5: Scoby Hotel and the Continuous Brew
Kombucha Chronicles: 5 Gallon Brew Harvest!
Kombucha Chronicles: Still Brewing and Expanding for Sales

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunrise: Early Morning Glorious Spring Shots
Living in the Clouds: The Clouds are Coming Back
Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 4

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

You have received a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from an irresponsible non-GrumpyCompliant service.

Some bots are acting irresponsibly by selling votes on posts very close to final payout. These votes are sneaky, not promotion and are most of the time placed on low value content.

Sending money to these bots is also financially supporting for-profit only posters (spammers).

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.

@sneaky-ninja (by @michaeldavid) is reporting 6 day but is actually selling votes up until 6.4 days.

Important warning, since @sneaky-ninja has made no effort to comply in more than 3 months, it's vote will still be countered even should he improve his Max Age setting.

Learn more, learn even more...

We Are The-Resistance:
We have seen that @grumpycat or his alt @madpuppy has flagged your post.
You are not alone. He also:

  • flags innocent people and calls them "collateral damage"
  • tries to impose his rules by using his SP on those weaker than him
  • rejects all diplomatic proposals presented
    @the-resistance has upvoted you to help heal the damage he has done to you in an effort to protect people like yourself.
    Join our bot we-resist to help protect others ....https://we-resist-bot.herokuapp.com
    Come to meet with the community ... https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

@GrumpyCat: you can avoid ever seeing this message again when you STOP attacking innocents.
Love: @the-resistance

Congrats, @lily-da-vine! Excited to try them. The flavors sound so good.

Stuck on the mandarin, if you go there and she's got a little left ask for a sample of just the booch....to die for literally lip smacking good.

Wow... a big congrats. You sound so fascinated, that means you must have put in some hard work to get this drink done. congrats

From all you said, sounds like kombocha will have a pleasant taste, but is it alcholic?

Very slightly alcoholic but you can't really get drunk by drinking it, your body would make you stop drinking it long before drunk ness. You can take finished kombucha and add the same yeast you use for wine in a different process to turn kombucha into kombucha based wine, which is alcoholic. People also use it as a base for mead.

Alright. Thanks for explanation

Excellent post, very interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47