Acapulco Mountaintop Cemetery Shots 1

in #photography7 years ago

We visited a mountaintop cemetery nearby this morning and I took my camera to get plenty of photos. I've always had a great deal of respect for places like this, especially ones at the end of a long windy dirt road into the jungle. It reminds me of the cemetery in Northern West Virginia that much of my family is in, also at the top of a mountain off the beaten path.

Acapulco has a reputation for drug crime and ten years ago it definately was a bit more of a wild place to be to say the least. At least in this cemetery you could see the rise of violence in this community through the years of 2001-2008, sometimes seeing graves of entire families buried in one spot. Things were definitely very different here during those times.

The only shooting we remember happening in our little barrio happened more than a year ago, when a woman was shot and killed in front of the tiny government building. I walked through the crime scene and wrote my shooting in the barrio but we never really knew what happened. Recently a neighbor told us her husband used to be a bad man, meaning he was involved with the cartel. It seems they found him and killed his wife, leaving him with 2 kids. We aren't sure if that's the truth but we do know that man has been nothing bit devastated every time we've seen him since.

Acapulco still holds a reputation of being dangerous but honestly has seriously calmed down. As far as we are concerned things are quiet here. There's still crime but it's not the same situation it used to be.

It was interesting that there were a lot of young children in the cemetery. My guess is many died of some sort of illness. The whole place told a sad story. Even still it was lively with the colors and with a crew of people setting up a new grave. They were friendly to us and our cameras.

I've got a lot more pictures of this place to share. It was easily one of the prettiest places I've been. I've always held the desire to be cremated after death but this is the sort of place I'd like to be buried in, if I were to be buried anywhere. I'll do without the concrete box, preferably with a tree planted above me.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Shooting in the Barrio
Jungle Shots: We Captured a Lizard and it Escaped
Jungle Shots: Datura Blossom Opens

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Thoughts on Mexican Street Dogs and Cute Dog Photos
Lily's Little Garden: Early morning Water Drop Shots
House Hunting Adventures: Small 2 Bedroom with a Terrace

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Wow, I have heard that Acapulco was a dangerous place and your other photos have shown me otherwise. Its the same for Chicago, where I live, so many people assume its dangerous but its really not. Its still sad to know lives have been lost. Your photos are amazing and your description of what happened are amazing. Good luck. Good to see Acapulco is getting better. Hope I can come visit soon.

I really love cemeteries! This is amazing!

really nice shots :)

I like these pics! I suggest you checking out Noah Cyrus's music video "AGAIN", she filmed it on a cementary and it's sooo good! Btw, my upvote doesn't worth anything 'cuz I'm a newbie here, but I'm posting this comment as a support. If you want, you can check my introduction post and leave me some feedback. And yeah, I'm 17 :) PEACE!

Where is this cemetery? (A three-words address would be great!)

I love these. Thank you for sharing. I am very drawn to these images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79