I got a new lens: Sigma 18-35 mm F1.8

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

sigma01.jpg

The Sigma 18-35 mm F1.8 lens is pretty much the holy grail of APS-C lenses since it is the only zoomable lens that beats primes in quality. The consistent aperture of F1.8 is awesome and enables an APS-C Camera to take photos that are hard to tell apart from those shot with full frame cameras. This lens has been on my wish list for quite some time, but two things kept me from buying it: Firstly, the lens weights over 800g which is a lot of weight for me since I travel with about 10kg usually - in fact, I will be flying to Bangkok next week with just 10kg of hand luggage allowance. Well, who needs spare clothes anyway when you can carry an extra lens, right?
Secondly, the lens is not cheap as it usually retails for about 700€ in Germany. On Monday I saw the lens for 475€ as a Warehouse Deal in "very good" condition on Amazon Prime Day - a steal for that price since even used lenses on Ebay usually cost more.

The lens arrived on Wednesday in perfect condition and while I am quite busy with moving back home to my parents and organising everything for my upcoming travels, I couldn't wait to try out the lens and went to a local park to get some shots. The handling of the lens is really great and the F1.8 aperture is incredible and enables me to capture photos in a quality unmatched by my shitty travel zoom lens. The shallow depth of focus brings some new challenges with focussing, here you can see some of my first tries with the lens:

sigma02.jpg

sigma03.jpg

sigma04.jpg

sigma05.jpg

I am totally in love with the bokeh! Of course, the lens is not limited to F1.8, it also offers fantastic details with with higher f-stops, but I couldn't find any particularly interesting subjects around my home to demonstrate this. Stay tuned for more shots with this lens that I will post in the next weeks when I carry this heavy lens around Myanmar!


My Recent Travel Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent daily posts!

You can view all my posts on steemitworldmap.com

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more photos and travel stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!

All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or the Steemit Traveller's Discord

*Reflink. Shop using this link to support me.

Instagram | Facebook | Website

Sort:  

Thank you @jpphotography for joining Photochain's photography contest. We appreciate your support and will reward you for each entry.

This contribution earned you 10 XP and 30 photons.
Don't forget to comment on other #photochaincommunity contributions to increase your XP multiplier and earn even more!

Daily statsOverall stats
Daily contributions: 2/∞Current level: 3
Daily XP: 20/∞Total XP: 280
Daily Photons: 60Total Photons: 510
Multiplier: 1XP required to level up: 390
Comments: 0/5Total contributions: 28

To receive the reward contact @runicar on Discord with your Ethereum wallet.
More info can be found at the contest announcement post.
Read more about Photochain on this post.
Visit photochain.io.
Try out the demo.

Awesome pictures @jpphotography! Cant wait to see the pics of Myanmar shot with your new lens.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow, really amazing shots @jpphotography :D
That Sigma lens is amazing!
Resteemed👍

Wow, thank you!

wow tolles Objektiv. Viel beim knippsen in Bangkok!

Danke, ich freu mich schon :)

The person that took this shot deserves some accolades

That would be me ;p Thanks!

logoAsset 4@2x.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog.



Photomag is a new proposition created by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Awesome, thanks a lot! I love this initiative and will use the tag for sure on my longer photo posts to come!

mmmm that creamy bokeh :) love it!

I am in love with this lens!

I can see why

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14