Unwrapping the Beauty: Fallas Sculptures in Valencia

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Each year in March, the city of Valencia goes crazy when the Valencians celebrate the end of winter with a unique festival: You know it is Fallas time when giant sculptures are erected on squares in the central districts of Valencia accompanied by amazing ear-shattering day- and nighttime fireworks and stunning LED-light shows.

01-jpp-20180312.jpg
32mm, f9, 1/160; Click on image to view fullscreen

The Fallas festival ends in the night from the 18th to the 19th of March when all the sculptures are burnt and the city goes up in smoke and flames. This means, that by now, all of the sculptures you can see below are burnt, but luckily I was able to capture some of them for eternity and will publish my best photos in a small photo series. For more photos and videos of the Fallas, head over to @for91days's blog who convinced me to visit Valencia during Fallas and showed me around this amazing festival!

04-jpp-20180312.jpg
90mm, f6.3, 1/160; Click on image to view fullscreen

For this first part of my photo series on Fallas, I have picked some photos of Fallas sculptures in the state of unwrapping. When Fallas ends on March 19th and all the sculptures have been burnt, the Fallas artists start to work on their sculptures for the following year, giving their best to show off their skills with the dream of winning the first price in the annual sculpture competition. After one year of work, the sculptures are transported to the square where they are going to be displayed to the judges and the public for five days before being burnt. But with the wrapping foil merging with the sculpture itself, I found that these half-wrapped sculptures are very special artworks that are destroyed even quicker than the sculptures themselves.

02-jpp-20180312.jpg
18mm, f9, 1/320; Click on image to view fullscreen

05-jpp-20180312.jpg
42mm, f5.6, 1/60; Click on image to view fullscreen

03-jpp-20180312.jpg
18mm, f5.6, 1/30; Click on image to view fullscreen


Camera Gear

The camera I used to capture this photo is a Nikon D5500 (APS-C) with a Nikon 10-20mm F4,5–5,6 and a Nikon 18-140mm F3.5-5.6 lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent daily posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more photos and travel stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!
All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or the Steemit Traveller's Discord.

Tag #travelfeed in your travel posts (min. 250 words) for a chance to be curated!

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Sort:  

What a nice shots you got specially the black and white. I’m still practicing on my mirrorlesa cam. I look froward to get a shot like yours. 😊

Thanks :) That black and white is just some lightroom processing ;)

Beautiful photos I was laughing at photo with the middle finger :)

These shots are so cool, such an awesome idea to get shots of them being unwrapped, they are rather spooky!

Thanks! And I agree, they can look spooky!

If I would be an artist I would be very upset. But then they all know what is going to happen. Still sad...

It kind of forces you to always look forward as an artist and the great thing is, they ALWAYS have work. They do sometimes get hired by Theme Parks from around the world to built figures. Those don't get burned.

Maybe they see the result of their work not as the sculpture itself but rather as the "performance" that they will be enjoying when the sculpture is light on fire

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

It seems like a loooong time ago since we did that morning walk looking at La Planta.

It does! Especially being here in ice-cold Germany..

very interesting!! good job!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jpphotography from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have never heard of the festival. But the sculptures are cool in a bizarre sort of way.

They are! Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63916.19
ETH 3461.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50