Carmel by the Sea: A Living Fairy Tale

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Carmel - The City by the Sea

Located just south of Monterey, in central California - Carmel is a sleepy little town that has a country feel but is right near the beach. Known for it's museums, galleries, and enchanting cottages - the streets are lined with eclectic little restaurants, cafes, candy shops and is home to the library of the historic Carmel Mission. When you first drive into town - it feels like you've just stepped back a few hundred years with cobblestone sidewalks and storefronts that all look cottages right out of a fairy tale.

I had a wonderful opportunity to visit Carmel this week and as soon I arrived , I realized that this was something I wanted to do an article about. Carmel has a personality that stands out right away and sets itself apart from most other cities and towns. I hope you will enjoy the photos I took and my take on this quiet little beach city.

 

Quaint and colorful cottages

20180417_140608.jpg
This is a typical store in Carmel - it looks like something right off the pages of a fairy tale.

 

Everywhere you look - there is something beautiful to see. More than just quaint little coffee shops and international eateries, there are lots of beautiful plants, trees, and wildlife to see. The smell is hard to describe- it's a mix of fresh ocean air with the earthy smell of the mountains - throw in some sweet chocolate and the smell of fresh brewed coffee and you'll start to get an idea of the towns aroma.

20180417_124718.jpg
This unique water feature uses a repurposed tree stump and makes it into an elegant water fountain. Surrounding it is an array of colorful plants and flowers.

 

Stepping off the beaten path

Just walk down any street in this picturesque town and you can tell this place is unique in it's own right. Even the alley ways are inviting. In between cottages and storefronts, there are alley ways and halls that are lined with crawling vines and peppered with potted plants and flowers.

20180417_125131.jpg

20180417_125145.jpg
This alley is actually the entryway to the Thomas Kinkade gallery where many of his paintings are on display and for sale.
 

20180417_125214.jpg

The walkway opens up to a patio that serves as the entrance to the Gallery. If you haven't heard of him, Kinkade is an artist known for specializing in painting light . He is often called the "Painter of light".

 

20180417_134952.jpg
Another cobblestone paved alleyway that leads to several little shops and ends up at a greek restaurant

20180417_140031.jpg
Shopping, Shopping Shopping - Carmel City by the Sea is rife with jewelry shops, clothing stores, art galleries, personal care salons and much more!

20180417_140125.jpg
I'm a sucker for toy stores and this one did not disappoint - it was full of toys old and new, games, dolls, action figures, and lots of other really cool random stuff

20180417_140523.jpg
Many of the restaurants had an international flavor to them from Italian to Mediterranean , to Turkish, Greek, there are many different taste to choose from

 

I had the opportunity to sit in one of the patios off the main path and enjoyed some leisurely time under the sun, and enjoying the ambiance and the warm breeze. While I was sitting there, many people were walking their dogs and even some of the local wildlife stopped in to say "Hi".

 

20180417_134818.jpg
The birds here seem to have very little fear of tourists and in fact tend get up close and personal - visiting tables and walking around underfoot.

20180417_134823.jpg
*Perhaps some of you know what kind of bird this is .. I do not - but it seemed rather fearless"
 

The plant life in the area is very diverse - from succulents to massive conifers - there is a little bit of something for everyone. I got a lot of decorating ideas while checking out the town and look forward to implementing some of the ideas in my own yard.

20180417_140106.jpg
A succulent rock garden looks nice and is easy to maintain

20180417_141115.jpg
Raised garden beds are attractive and can be arranged any way you like

20180417_160835.jpg
Even the Town Hall has the same look and feel as the rest of the rustic community

 

20180417_180655.jpg
This is a restaurant that my wife and I ate at - the Mussels were delicious as well as the short ribs.

 

There's even a "Husband Daycare Center"

20180417_140735.jpg

 

Thank you all for taking the time to stop by my blog -

I hope you enjoyed my day in Carmel - I certainly did and I'm happy to be able to share it with you all.

 
 


 
 

 

Please be sure to check out my others articles on real estate, investing , and cryptocurrency ( and some other random dog stuff)

I always upvote comments to my blog posts

 

Transforming Our Front Yard

The Yard Transformation Continues...A Path and a Patio

CRYPTO CAGE MATCH #13: Saturday Night Showdown

I'm being audited by the IRS: Arrest Warrant already Issued

Driving For Dollars: What is it and does it work?

Transplanting My Orange Tree

Sort:  

Traveling with Photo-shot. its a amazing moment for every traveler.

i think you feel better.

lovely pics and a great tale
I hope @ocd finds you

thank you very much! - I hadn't planned on documenting my trip - but once I arrived - it was so beautiful that I couldn't help myself.

Love Carmel! I haven't been in a few years. Live near SF and usually end up in Half Moon Bay when we go to beach. Your pictures make me want to plan a trip to Carmel.

It's easy to see why you love it - I had a great time there and wished that I could have stayed longer. Thanks for checking out my blog -glad I could bring back some good memories.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 22:13:43
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56