Rice Bowls with Crispy Chickpeas & Aji Ranch - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch-5.jpg

Anyone else craving some wholesome goodness?

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch-3.jpg

I’ve been so inspired recently by all of the pretty and healthy bowls that everyone has been making. All of the modern, hip food bloggers are doing them. There are a bunch of different names for them; buddha bowls, nourish bowls, quinoa bowls, there’s even the smoothie bowls going on. Basically, everything is in bowls and if it’s not then you aren’t doing it right.

My main goal for this recipe was to keep things really simple and I even took some optional short-cuts/cheats for my own bowls. The first step is to make the “parm” chickpeas which are way easier to make than you might think. It’s a simple combination of nutritional yeast, garlic powder, and salt and pepper to your taste. Then you roast them until crispy and your all done.

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch.jpg

The aji ranch is definitely something I’ll be repeating. Aji is like the standard hot pepper that I became familiar with when we lived in Chile. It may not be the easiest thing to find depending on where you live but it can be easily replaced with another hot pepper sauce like sriracha or any that you like. It takes all of 2 minutes to stir together and is the perfect flavor compliment to these bowls.

As for the “grain” in this recipe I was going to do quinoa until I realized I was almost out of it, hence the fact that I cheated a little. I used some of those ready to eat rice packets that you can get at most grocery stores. The one I used was brown rice and quinoa, however, you can use plain brown or white rice, couscous, barley, or quinoa. Basically any grain that you prefer. Although, if you want them to be gluten free then go with whatever gluten free grain you like obviously. These are super adaptable so make them your own.

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch-2.jpg

Lastly, for the veggies I cheated again. I used a pre-mixed bag of stir-fry vegetables that had broccoli, brussels sprouts, carrots, snow peas, kale, red cabbage, and mushrooms. I steamed them with only the most basic seasoning and added them to the bowls.

If you haven’t caught on to this by now, I’m trying to relay that these bowls are completely customizable. Let me know what you think and what changes you make to your recipe because I’d love to hear.

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch-4.jpg

Rice Bowls with Crispy Chickpeas & Aji Ranch


Simple meals are the best and the easier the better. These bowls are perfect combination of a few really easy components.

Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 30 minutes
Total Time 45 minutes
Servings 4 -6 servings

Ingredients


Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas:
2 cups chickpeas cooked (not rinsed)
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Aji Ranch:
1 cup plain non-dairy yogurt
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon parsley dried
1 tablespoon Aji pepper sauce or any sauce such as sriracha
1 teaspoon worchestershire sauce be sure your brand is vegan
3 cloves garlic minced
Steamed Veggies:
4 -5 cups mixed vegetables any that you like
salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Bowls:
4 cups cooked brown rice or any grain you prefer
4 cups fresh spinach

Instructions


Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and line a baking tray with parchment. Drain cooked chickpeas and pour them into a medium mixing bowl. Add the seasoning and toss to coat evenly. Spread the chickpeas out on tray in an even layer and place in the oven to roast for 15-20 minutes until browned and crispy. (Take them out after about 10 minutes to turn for a more even roast.)

Aji Ranch
Stir together the ingredients for the ranch and set aside until ready to make up the bowls.

Steamed Veggies:
Pour veggies into a large skillet and add about 1/2 an inch of water. Cover with a lid a place over medium high heat to steam for 6- to 8 minutes or until they reach your desired tenderness. Remove from heat and season with garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.

Bowls
To make the bowls warm your chosen grain (if not already hot) and scoop desired amounts into bowls along with the steamed veggies, fresh spinach, and roasted chickpeas. Drizzle aji ranch over bowls as desired or serve along side.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Bananas, Sunflower Seeds, & Oat Bars
  2. Easy 30-Minute Thai Basil Asian Stir-Fry
  3. Orange Yogurt Bowls + Chocolate Hazelnut Granola
  4. Chewy Butter Pecans & Chocolate Cookies
  5. Creamy Spring Veggie Fettuccine

Also, check out my recap of last year
  1. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 1
  2. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 2
  3. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 3

Veggie Grain Bowls with Crispy Parm Roasted Chickpeas & Aji Ranch-6.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Yummy bowl:) Have a nice day!

I plan too, have a nice day as well!

I'm coming over because that's too much good food

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, well I can't wait to share then. lol

Always enjoy your very healthy foods you share with us.
Always so beautiful and so good for the overall health.
Thank you @gringalicious for always giving me some ideas or tips for preparing my foods and the best thing is that it is so healthy.

It's my deep pleasure. Thank you for such a kind comment!

That looks yummy!

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad you like it.

Not only is this food looking stunningly delicious, I so enjoyed the professionalism of this post. Your photography skills are ACES! And your also write well. What a potent trifecta: Photography, Writing & Recipes that kick gluteus maximi! Wow to the power of Wow! I'm following! Okay... today I'm lingering on you.

Wow, such a huge compliment. Thank you so much for such flattery. Have a great day.

Ohhhh now I'm pretty much drooling. Looks a lot like the sweet-potato, chickpea, & kale Buddha bowls that we tend to make. Might have to try this one.

I hope you do and I hope you enjoy!

Bravo Chef!

Another classicsuperlishess dish!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I have been looking for a recipe that could help me get through my week because I am going for a less sugar diet and I think i found what I will prepare for tomorrow thru this post.
Thank you for this! :)

That's wonderful! I'm so glad to have inspired you!

Thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

It's my pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29