Luck of the Irish Cheddar Potato Soup - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Are you feeling lucky today?

DSC_0208.jpg

I’m feeling pretty lucky but it has more to do with deliciousness than leprechauns and clovers. I have to say that I’ve never really gotten the whole St. Patrick’s day thing but it is fun to have a theme to go with. I know March is still a little ways off but I thought I'd share this one early so you can have it ready for St. Patrick's Day. (Maybe even start making it now to perfect your soup making skills!)

DSC_0075.jpg

So what exactly makes this soup Irish? Um, actually I don’t know. I mean, it’s got potatoes so doesn’t that automatically make it count. Hmmm, that sounds kind of discriminating. I bet the Irish get annoyed by everyone thinking they live on potatoes. You know that I live in Idaho now, right? Well, this State is known for it's production of potatoes. I can’t tell you how many people ask me if we eat a lot of potatoes. It’s very annoying sometimes because I like potatoes, but that's not because I live here.

DSC_0115.jpg

So it's not truly Irish soup, but it just feels more fun to say that. If you're from Ireland hopefully you will feel honored and not annoyed. Haha, but if you are annoyed I completely understand.

DSC_0104.jpg

This is one of my new go-tos for dinner. In fact, it was such a hit the first time that I went through the effort of remaking it and taking a second set of pictures because my camera's SD card diedand I lost the first set.

DSC_0147.jpg

I love how easy it is. When I make soups like this I always start by making the stock, which adds an hour but it's simple and doesn't take much hands-on work at all. I also really enjoy making things in one pot for my huge family.

DSC_0246.jpg

Anyway, this soup is a winner every time and I really hope you make it and enjoy it. So happy St. Patrick's Day a few months early, haha.

DSC_0165.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. Espresso White Chocolate Cake
  2. Candied Lemon Guava Berry Tart
  3. Pizza for Breakfast?!?! Cheesy Bacon Eggs & Gravy Pizza
  4. Italian Basil Meatballs & Tomato Sauce Pasta
  5. Tuesday Toast - Classic Breakfast
  6. Coconut Very Berry Smoothie Bowls
  7. Toasted Coconut Caramel Girl Scout Cookie Ice Cream
  8. Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches
  9. Triple Citrus Jelly Filled Poppyseed Muffins
  10. Chocolate + Fruity Marshmallow Cookie Pizza (aka PIZOOKIE)

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "I feel lucky!"

DSC_0233.jpg

Sort:  

ADD #photofeed to your tag! Your stuff is awesome!!!! We resteemed!

Delicious food. "I feel lucky!"

Haha, thanks @pariza. Happy Saturday!

Ingredients

5 large (or 10 small) red skin potatoes (peeled if desired), cut into cubes
1 liter chicken stock
1 medium onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
8 pieces uncooked bacon
1 teaspoon fresh dill
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 cup (about 4 oz) shredded cheddar cheese
salt and black pepper to taste
chopped green onions and extra cheese for topping
Instructions

Combine potatoes and broth in a large pot over high heat. Cover loosely with lid lifted slightly to allow steam to escape and bring to a boil.
Meanwhile, cook bacon until crispy. Remove to paper towel lined plate and save for topping. Add onion and garlic to pan and saute until browned. Add to pot along with dill, salt, and plenty of black pepper.
Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender, about 45 minutes.
Reduce heat to low and stir in greek yogurt and cheddar cheese until melted and smooth then turn off heat.
Serve hot topped with crumbled bacon, cheese, and green onions.

Well, very delicious photos!;)Lovely post!

гггщ.jpg

Gorgeous food photography. This would be great on a cold winter day like today

I really appreciate all of your support @noboxes, thanks so much!!

mmm, yummyliciousness!!

always so sweet and supportive, thanks so much @fullofhope

Stunning food photos!!

I really appreciate all of your support @mamaloves, thanks so much

Hi my sweet! Ohhhhh! I like all kind of soup! But the potato is my favorite vegetable which i can eat it every day without feeling boring, and the Moroccan use it so much
In carry, thank you very much for the recipe! I can try it one day for dinner.

Awesome, I am thrilled that you liked it @creativewoman. I hope you give it a try soon

This soup looks so delicious! It's is perfect for me because I'm a cheese lover ahaha

Oh, that's awesome. Thanks @crissimoes!

looks awsome... you don´t mind posting the recie, please?

Thanks

Just shared the recipe above. Thanks so much @spirits4you!

dammit... wasn´t there when I posted. Thanks a lot :)

Looks yummy.. enjoy the potato soup with your family :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42