Bowl Style Sushi! - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls (5).jpg

I’m pretty excited to share this one cuz, day-YUM, it was so good! So in my house it’s really easy to make everyone happy with bowl-style meals. You can get really creative and versatile with all of the ingredients and it keeps really easy too.

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls (3).jpg

For me, I especially love rice bowls. Actually, I really just love any kind of grain based bowls. In fact, I realized recently that I rarely eat bread, or any form of wheat for that matter. It’s not because of a gluten allergy or anything, I just always prefer other forms of carbs. Like sweet potatoes!

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls (2).jpg

When I’m traveling I love getting sushi whenever I can. This last trip I found a place that served sweet potato sushi and it pretty much blew my mind. So simple, but so good! For some reason though, when I get home sushi isn’t something I think to make very often. Mostly because it just seems like a hassle to slice the veggies thinly and roll it all up. That’s why I came up with this deconstructed sushi roll in a bowl.

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls (4).jpg

The base is just simply sushi rice, baked sweet potatoes coated in an easy miso almond butter sauce, and I added some black beans. You can use edamame instead though. As for the toppings, anything goes. The usual sushi suspects are great, but don’t be afraid to get even more creative and add whatever you want.

For mine I added some thinly sliced strips of nori seaweed (like you’d wrap sushi with), some bean sprouts, bell peppers, mango, radishes, and avocado. Oh, and since I don’t really like cucumbers myself, I replaced it with zucchini, but you can of course use cucumbers. See, that’s the great thing about these bowls is that they are super versatile.

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls (6).jpg

Ok, and the last great thing about this recipe is that it’s one of the easiest meals to prep ahead because it’s served cold. Although, I’ve eaten it warm too and it’s also delicious that way. Obviously the running theme here is that you can make it your own.

I really hope you try it and if you do I’d love to know what you think.

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls


Intimidated to make homemade sushi or just don't feel like taking the time? Try this super simple and versatile recipe instead!
Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 40 minutes
Total Time 50 minutes

Ingredients


Miso Almond Butter Sauce:
3 tablespoons almond butter
1 1/2 tablespoon miso paste
1 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon chili garlic paste
4 1/2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons coconut aminos or soy sauce
3/4 teaspoon ginger paste
3 tablespoons coconut sugar
1/3 cup water
Bowls:
1 large or 2 medium sweet potatoes sliced
1 cup sushi rice
1 3/4 cups water
3 Tablespoons unseasoned rice vinegar divided
1 Tablespoons organic cane sugar optional
1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
Topping Ideas:
cucumber or zucchini, mango, bell peppers, bean sprouts, radishes, cabbage, carrot, avocado, toasted seaweed or nori strips, black sesame seeds, pickled ginger, wasabi

Instructions


For the sauce, whisk or blend together the ingredients and set aside.
For the bowls, start by making the rice. Rinse the rice in a fine mesh sieve until the water runs clear. Transfer to a small pot and add the water. Bring to a boil, lower to a simmer, cover and cook for 18 minutes or until the water is evaporated. In a small saucepan, warm 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar, sugar and salt and stir until sugar and salt are dissolved. Stir into the cooked rice. Set aside and keep covered.
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with unbleached parchment paper. Toss the sweet potato slices in a medium mixing bowls with about 1/3 of the almond butter miso sauce, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Bake for about 30 minutes until the sweet potatoes start to darken and crinkle around the edges.
To serve, fill each bowl with desired amount of rice, sweet potatoes, black beans, and any toppings you like and serve with additional almond butter miso sauce and/or soy sauce. Grab your chopsticks and dig in.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. White Chocolate Blueberry Oat Cookies
  2. Peaches + Strawberries Rustic Tart
  3. Coconut + Chocolate Almond Joy Scones
  4. Sesame Orange Roasted Veggie Brown Rice Salad
  5. Chocolate Chip Cookies Stuffed w/ Peppermint Patties!

Also, check out my recap of last year
  1. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 1
  2. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 2
  3. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 3

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

Deconstructed Veggie Roll Sushi Bowls..jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Looks tasty and healthy!

Those vivid colors create a vibrant picture. and that recipe looks delicious I will surely try it out.

Thanks. I'm so glad you like it!

Omg it looks so good! I will try try this dish at home

I hope you enjoy! Thanks, girl!

I never bother with careful arrangement of food for photography. When I whip something up, I am usually hungry and thinking about food consumption rather than food blogging. How do you restrain yourself long enough to stage these food photoshoots?

Haha, I know what you mean and for every beautiful food photo there are 20 stunning messes of real life food behind the scenes.

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Full of deliciousness and happiness :D

You're so kind!

love your pictures

What a phenomenal platter of food. Amazing presentation, and a healthy combo. Cheers @gringalicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28