Chocolate Chip Cookies Stuffed w/ Peppermint Patties! - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-3.jpg

Yay, we're finally getting snow!

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-1.jpg

Sorry, it's just that this has been the first Winter since I've lived where I live now and we haven't had a ton of snow. In fact, it's been very warm for Winter.

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-2.jpg

But anyway, we've got cookies to talk about!

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-6.jpg

Oh, and I hope you guys don’t feel like I’m overloading you with cookie recipes recently. I don’t know what the deal is, but I guess I’ve just been in a mood. These are definitely some that you have to try though. Especially if you love mint with chocolate, and who doesn’t?

They’re not very complicated either. In fact, I feel a little bit like I’m getting off easy because I literally just took my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe and added peppermint patties , simple as that. The hardest part I guess is stuffing each individual ball of cookie dough with the peppermint patties, but even that is fairly straight-forward. The key is to make sure that the patties are frozen so that they don’t melt inside the cookies too much while baking.

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-4.jpg

Alright, so I’m going to stop talking so you can go try them and I can enjoy the weather for a moment.

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies


Less is usually more but in this case putting 2 perfect things together creates a really magical treat.
Prep Time 30 minutes
Cook Time 30 minutes
Total Time 1 hour
Servings 30 cookies (about)

Ingredients


3/4 cup 1 1/2 sticks Miyoko's "butter" or any dairy free butter, cut into pieces
3 tablespoons coconut cream *see note
3 tablespoons applesauce or pumpkin puree
1 cup brown sugar packed
1/2 cup organic granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups dairy free semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate
about 30 homemade peppermint patties, frozen

Instructions


Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Cream butter and sugars together in bowl of stand mixer (or with hand mixer). Scrape sides of bowl and add coconut cream and applesauce; beat until well combined. Add vanilla, soda, and salt. Add flour one cup at a time and beat after each addition but just until combined. (If you are using a hand mixer you may have to hand stir the last cup of flour into the dough.) Stir in chocolate and line a cookie sheet with parchment.
Roll the dough into balls, about 1 1/2 tablespoons each, and place about 2 inches apart on baking sheet. Now take each dough ball and flatten into a disk, then place a peppermint patty in the center and gently shape dough around it and roll between your palms. Place cookies back on tray, top with some extra chocolate chunks if desired, then push them down slightly and repeat with all the cookies.
Bake for 8 - 10 minutes until edges just start to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for about 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack.

Recipe Notes


If you have trouble finding coconut cream at your local grocery store it's completely fine to use full-fat coconut milk and scrape the cream off of the top. Just be sure that it's cold enough to separate.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Healthier Oatmeal Cream Pies
  2. Itty Bitty Homemade Cinnabuns!
  3. Homemade Bread Bowls + Creamy Corn Soup
  4. Healthy Smoothie Bowls with Mango + Acai
  5. Sofritas Burrito Bowls (Chipotle Inspired )

Also, check out my recap of last year
  1. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 1
  2. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 2
  3. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 3

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

Peppermint Patty Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan+GF)-5.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Great job! I like foodphotos from your blog! They are made me hungry)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

Very beautiful and delicious, a great job @gringalicious!

You're so kind!

these are making me so hungry

Haha, I'm glad you like them!

Congratulations! You won free digital art:

Totally mouthwatering captures!
Great recipe & post as always.... Steem on :)

Thanks, steem on as well my friend!

!!Se ven Deliciosas!!

I really appreciate it!

Chocolate chip cookies and mint always go well together. The other pair of my favorite is chocolate chip cookies with orange zing. Anyone has a recipe for it?

I do actually, maybe I can post it soon. ;)

Beautiful as always.
Only one thing: for me too much burning on the first cookie on le left in the main photo. The other ones are ok.

Thanks for the helpful critique my friend!

@gringalicious, Delicious time for the tummy for sure. Enjoy your foodie sessions and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17