Walking Street Ad in Bhaktapur

in #photography6 years ago


Human Inflatable Ad in Bhaktapur ~ Nepal


This street scene in Bhaktapur, Nepal shows locals fascinated by a walking, inflatable advertisement.

I was more interested in people's reactions and the buildings which, although decrepit looking were, none the less inhabited.


Bhaktapur Street.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

hey, @gillianpearce.

Looks like a lot of young men on the street. And this was a commercial area that existed pre-earthquake? Or was this a residential area?

The hat on the duck looks like it says Century, but I have no idea what it says on its pants, or what it's advertising for. Food probably?

The thing behind it to the left looks like a hot dog.

I like this image a lot. there's a lot going on in it, and it's obviously not a western world vibe at all, even though most people are dressed in westerner clothing. :)

Hi @glenalbrethsen

It was a residential area.

I like the image a lot too. As you say, there's plenty to look at. It wasn't intentional. I was more focused on the walking and the crowd. It was a nice surprise when I saw all the buildings later.

Hope you're having a good week. 😊

Apparently, large inflatable ducks have right of way, there. What is the yellow thing to the left supposed to be? It looks somewhat phallic. The buildings in the background are interesting, too. They look a little hodge-podged together.

Many of the buildings in Nepal are hodge-podged together @fotosdenada. 😂

This photograph was taken prior to the big earthquake so, sadly, those particular buildings may no longer still be standing. They already look very precarious there.

Very funny and cool. I bet he's always on the lookout for cats. Ahahah. They love to scratch such things. 😂

I will say, sincerely inspiring contrast. Historic buildings and cheerful drake. There's something about this which catches my attention;)

Greetings my dear friend :)

Thank you @margaretwise. It is quite an unusual combination of subjects I think. But that's one of the points of travelling isn't it? To see things that are different from what we're used to.

Have a lovely day! 😊

Yes, indeed my friend :)

Interesting reflections. I would love to see more photos!

thanks @mountainjewel. I've already done loads of posts on my trip to Nepal. 😁

awesome! i'll have to dig through the archives to see some!

howdy gillianpearce! haha! what in the world? There's a person in there?
That's too funny.

hello @janton. I think there was a person in there. I can't remember to be honest but from what I wrote, closer to the time, it sounds like there was. 😂

oh ok...well, I think it would be fun to run up to them and stick that thing with a sharp knife and see what happens!

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 16% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Now, that is an envious trip! I can see the precariousness of the buildings here, but there is something so cool and foreign and exciting about all of your photos from here. I love the adventure, the people, the cultural differences and sameness.

Thank you for sharing this part of your life journey with us. I adore all of them.

Tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46