You Can't Take A Good Shot Against The Light

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

c.jpg

Are you a professional photographer? I am not. However, I fell in love with photography back when I was still in the PH and my first ever camera was a smartphone, too - a nokia N70, I also took videos with it. When I accidentally dropped it in the basin of white laundry I then bought a real camera -it was a Samsung something which also got soaked in the water on the way to Pagsanjan waterfalls. Before it resigned, it got me often hanging out with a group of photographers in my place back then. They were a club and I liked tagging along with them because they go places to take pics. I often remember they keep telling me back then that it's not possible to take a good shot against the light unless I have special lenses.

b.jpg

e.jpg

I have always tried taking the sunlight, the sunset and taking pictures of things against the light even back then. Well, the photo peeps I was hanging out with were also not professional photographers but they have high tech cams. Back then it was a trend to have a DSLR for a necklace. I was always curious whether I would actually manage to without using special zoom in lenses. I actually did and had I not shared the other pics in my other social medias I would very much like to share it with you for now let it be these weed.

I'm sorry to say but it actually is possible to take a good shot of at least something - against the light without special lenses. Although, these shot provided more details or perhaps it's just a matter of perspective.

d.jpg

f.jpg

These aren't huge so I really appreciate my phone's cam because despite that it's just a phone cam it has managed to capture these. They're the size of my pinkie. I saw them on one of our strolls in the woods and I saw a part of glitter so I crouched to take a peek at the sun through it. I admit that I had to squint and had teary eyes after taking the shots with the sun in it but I love how they turned out .

g.jpg

a.jpg

This is another one and of course once you get to do it on one - I guess it's normal to try it to another one so I did.

h.jpg

This is what it looks like. They're grass flowers half the size of a rice grain and if you take a closer look you'd find some opened buds at the row second to the bottom. They're pretty according to the picture because I couldn't really see that very well since they're very very tiny.

i.jpg

I'm in love with my phone camera, it has captured so many details I could not see with my naked eyes. I sometimes wonder though .. what kind of lenses do they put on our phones these days? Technology and innovation have really made so many things possible these days and it makes me wonder what is to come in the future. Would we then what used to be invisible to the naked eyes through our cams in the future? I live in the moment but for now ... I excitedly await the better changes that tomorrow brings.

How about you, have you ever taken pics against the light?
Did you manage to get a good shot?
Was the shot easy to take?

This content's 100% mine , I took the pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016 .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely composition and beautiful artful photographs.....always appreciate it when the photographs transcend just being a representation. Against the light....some turn out and some do not....there is no telling until you get a chance to see the photographs.

I am always amazed when perusing through the photos after a photo shoot how there are those least expected...that turn out spectacular and the ones that you were sure were winners.....at the time of shooting....turn out to be duds. ^_^

You are right...so many things the camera picks up in both clarity and detail we cannot see with our eyes.

Yes....bleujay is really enjoying the technology of cameras these days.

Wishing you all the best Mon Ami. A bientotlater. ^_^

edit...spelling...

Yo lady!! I love taking pics against the light too. You can get done real arty cool pics that way as you have so ably demonstrated!

you bet ! you did I remember your photo challenge entry of the shadow
your doll was on a swing and the sun was up and not shying away that day too
I clearly remember :D
that was epic
where's baby Boom? oh insistent hahahah
sorry can't help it!

I loved that one! It was a great shot, its a tricky but worthwhile thing to try and get right!

He ain't coming, boooo!!

You did prove those guys wrong that you could actually take a good photo against the light so good job haha. The pictures were very beautiful, liked them a lot. :)
@lillieskold

thank you
I wasn't really proving them wrong I was just trying to do what they said - can't be done
proving is not my thing :D

Thanks for this, I agree I like to positives in seemingly negatives (no pun intended). Maybe you could get some kind of special effect by taking pictures against the light.

You have an excellent phone, so the photos turned out clear and bright. In addition, you have chosen the perfect object for the photo. Thank you @englishtchrivy

thanks
not really chosen - it was all - it glittered so I tried shooting it as I wrote up there
sometimes I have my phone with me and sometimes I dont so the ones I actually chose to or want to mostly "got away or missed"

Oh yeah, lady, but still the photos turned out perfect :)

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

This post has received a 12.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @englishtchrivy.

Looks like you did what could not be done! Very good job! Those a great photo's and I bet you will only get better as time goes on! Followed you!

it could be done :D
thank you

Beautiful pics nice shots.

I was never one to follow rules. Taking photos against the light has given me some pretty awesome photos. I like what you have done. Keep on doing what you are doing. The results are great!

prefer following rules :D
but I like finding out what is to me the unknown :)

thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56