Corals, Empty Sea Shells and Skirts Growing On Tree Trunks

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

2.jpg

Okay, so you didn't really take the title literary didn't you? However, I wonder whether it got you curious so you clicked on it. It's autumn and that means lot'za peeps are off foraging edible versions of these.

3.jpg

When I was still in Asia, I have to admit I was aware of only a few mushrooms. . .mostly, edibles. When I moved here, autumn showed off more of them. When I started Steemiting, I got to see more. What say ya? You, too? Hmm.. probably ~~~ ...

4.jpg

4b.jpg

Yes, these are mushrooms but they sure look like corals don't they? At least ... that's what I thought when I took the first shot. Of course, you would want to see what it looks like from above but most mushrooms are actually more interesting underneath.

5.jpg

Is it just me or you also see what looks like an empty sea shell stuck on a trunk like a fossil. Of course, that isn't a sea shell nor a fossil. They remind me of "gano". I wonder if they are actually that.

7.jpg

8.jpg

These .. they look pretty much like skirts and petticoats don't they? Hmmmm... perhaps I should get me eye glasses, besides am almost 40 , my eyes must be kidding me.

6.jpg

6a.jpg

Can you blame me though? These ones, they really look like skirts don't they? Perhaps, it's cause I found them in the middle of the forest where it was quite dark so they kind'a look like skirts the royals used to wear a way long time ago. At first, I actually thought they look more of giant barnacles but I went closer and .. skirts!

9.jpg

... even from up there or should I say .. specially up there. Forgive the blurry shot but my excuse is - it was too high and I'm pretty petite.

1.jpg

Not if you look underneath or above it though ...

10.jpg

11.jpg

So, what say ya? Do you also see corals, empty sea shells and skirts growing on those trees or is it just me?

This content's 100% mine , I took the pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016 .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Yes.....lovely corals, skirts, barnacles and sea shells.....how very beautiful.

Just fantastic photographs.......thank you for bringing these treasures to Steemit.

Wishing you a lovely weekend mon ami.

Thank you......A bientot. ^_^

thank you Mon Ami
how come you're still up?
I mean .. I am, too but :D I had too much coffee and nap after coming from the butterfly garden today
I hope you're having a great weekend!

hiya......almost the same here.....

......a little caffeine and a moment to spend with you and Steemit. ^_^

And a lovely moment it was. Lovely post...enjoyed it.

Yes....thank you....a busy weekend....no worries...all good.

A bientot.....Mon Ami.

hahahha .. someday, we'd share one together .. perhaps else where cozy in the heavens? I mean Venus :D

very very sweet of you Mon Ami
okay then.. am glad everything's going on well
A bientot!

excellent comment @bluejay i cant agree less that those corals, skirts, barnacles and sea shells you noticed like me are truly beautiful... keep it coming

I see corals and all sorts of mysteries in those funky shrooms!! :0)

you play the same game I play :D
that one has got zombies in it ey? shrooms !!! ^ ^

Nice analogies! Last weekend I was pulled into the forest as well to hunt for eatable mushrooms. First time ever for me. We got ourselves many of the cep versions, and while searching for them, I also noticed these skirt types, so wonderful to see them.

thanks !
so you're one of them foragers :D!

Not sure if I'm one, when I was a child I lived in the woods, it was literally 50 meters walk from the front door, but not that many mushrooms around as far as I recollect, however we had all the plants and trees we can find in NL with stuff we can eat.

that's quite handy
miss it?

Actually, I would love to live in the middle of a forest! But I also love to live in the middle of a city where I live now. I'm sure at some stage in life, I go back to living in or close to nature again! I do sometimes miss it indeed to not be that close to forest, or dunes. It is so peaceful when being in nature, and I would love to being able to work from such peaceful place. Since my work is laptop, email and phone, I can do that anywhere; Perfect for nature office. With a car I can be at any place for meetings. Lately I'm thinking ore and more to change my life, and a may buy a camper bus! This could become my mobile home and office!

Mushrooms may not be a mystery, but, they stump me now and then. I can say that now the only thing I have is corals in my eyes now. I may never be able to pick again!!! :)

However, you have left me with stunning images of the textured fungus.

Simply delightful. Make them stop looking up her skirt! tip!

hahahahah .. so they're not mushrooms?
should I change tags now?
looking up her skirt ey? haha sounds like peeping Tom :D

I would say they are all mushroom, except for the suspect on that is gobbling up the fern -ish type plant. (the last picture) The tags are great! Or so they seem to me.

I can only guess there would be a glancing look as one passes by, looking up her skirt. Definitely a peeper!

okay then .. you seem to know more about them
I'm not from here so I honestly can't tell
all I learned was back when I was introduced to them - the lichen, fungus (that is if I remember it right, too hahahah am sorry it's been a long time ago ahahah) have bright colors
thank you for the effort of replying back
and sleep tight
am sorry for the bother :)

It is not bother at all! I am in the US and it is only 7pm here. Sleep well!

No bother at all. I am in the US and it is only 7pm here! Sleep well! :) And thank you for the tips.

Yes they do look like skirts! I love the way you see things differently Ivy - you make me look at the world a different way 💖

thanks :)
Aw that's a sweet thing to say!

Beautiful mushrooms, I Think it is the home of little elfs =)

thanks :)
apparently I'm thinking now that only two of them are - mushrooms
forgive me but am rather not an expert on them
so I can't say they are home for elves specially that I don't think Santa would fit in there :D
lol

It's magical nature around us!

These images are amazing dear friend @englishtchrivy, in my province there are many solitary forests, mushrooms in the trunks always intrigued me to know how they were formed, mushrooms very similar to those shown in these images.
I love the way they present all diverse and beautiful.
congratulations on the beautiful captures
I take the opportunity to wish you a beautiful weekend, surrounded by family and friends

Thanks for the upvote and great pictures of the fungi! It brings back memories of Ohio and roaming the woods finding all sorts of fungi. I live in a high desert now so not so much fungi but lots of lichen.

you're welcome :)

you're welcome
am off to bed :)

I also see :D Beautiful photos! Such unusual perspectives, I'm delighted <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65200.45
ETH 3535.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45