The Most Modest Crawl You'd Ever See

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

By this time you probably already are saying; "Seriously? How many more many- legged creeping critters is she going to show us?" This is going to be the last .. for now.

1a.jpg

Tonight, I really wanted to post something else instead of this though I've finished working on these pictures for a week. However, there's something about this caterpillar that the other caterpillar I presented you that I wanted you to notice.

Their legs ... have you ever paid attention on a caterpillar? Probably not specially if you're not a fan of them, yes? I grew up with these creatures because in my grandfather's house there was a big yard and critters abound. My grandfather made me appreciate all of them though so I don't remember freaking out when I see any of those. In fact, my usual reaction is to pluck them up but I've also managed to unlearn that.

3.png

Anyway, about their legs, most of the time we only see them on side view on pics don't we? Notice the way they're arranged? Can you count how many pairs this one have? If you thought 5 I thought the same, too. Until now, am actually wondering whether those tiny leg looking like thin yellow extensions near what must be his face - are actually legs. They look very poised holding the stem don't you think? Do you happen to know? Shout it out in the comment?

I found him in Sonsbeek Park. Along with these three. Yes, they've chewed the plant they were on bald but there were still plenty of the stalks around them.

2.png

4.jpg

I wanted to take a video to show you how they walk but they won't budge. My guess, they're hiding from the beaked creatures which abound in that place.

Well, I'm guessing they crawl the same way this guy does. Yes, it's the same guy on the first pic of this post. Last set of feet first, which is found at the bottom, then all four middle legs but then from the hind-est to the nearest to them seem to be forelegs - if those forelegs aren't actually hands.

I'm doubting they're forelegs cause if you clicked on the video then you must have also seen that he used those three sets of must be hands near his head to hold the stem he then chewed on and .. you must have also seen how soft and fragile looking they actually are without their "scary fronts" - if I may call it that way because to be honest I find them very very beautiful. So much like a perfect work of art!

Do you happen to be as inquisitive and curious as I am when it comes to nature? Why?
If you are, which creature are you so curious of and what on earth do you do when you spot one?
Any unusual thing you want to share us about such creature?

This content's 100% mine , I took the pics and video with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016 .

By the way, did you notice the bug last night? My first pic won't show on the comp - is visible on mobile and tablet but not on the comp and it wasn't just mine surely, I bumped into a few posts posted 6 hours before mine and the case was the same. Is that solved now?



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Two days since the last post... I'm worried.
All fine? :-)

hi ya, you've been missed more here!
I did curate last night.
voting power dead low so I just curated and returned ups
it's hard to recharge and seems very easy to loose these days
am great thank you for that very very sweet thought and all your support
I hope good karma repays you back for me :)
take care and I hope you're doing great !!!
we miss you a lot !!!

Good photos (again)!

The six legs near its head are its real legs, like the mature insect has. The other ones are called prolegs, or propoten in Dutch, and they have no joints like proper legs. The middle ones are called buikpoten in Dutch, the ones at the end naschuivers. I don't know the English terms for those.

upped a 100% for the info!
so all the while all of them are legs really?
thank you!

Yes, like @ocrdu said above, the six near the front are legs! Haha have you found the eyes yet?

yes and they have 3 pairs
very very small :)

eyes.png

Wow! That one has very impressive head gear!

that's the main pic on the banana leaf lovers post :)

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.....truly.

How could you not show us this lad.....he is lovely.

Appreciate these fine photographs and information as always.

Wishing you all the best mon ami.....A bientotlater.

NB Catch you in the morning.

thank you Mon Ami
indeed it's hard not to
there's a lot more of 'em but somewhere I will have to stop :)
my intention is to make the world appreciate
but I guess most people are freaked out of their appearances
sadnez :(
but I guess that's the beauty among us - we're all different
sleep tight!
don't worry :)
am always grateful THANK YOU!

Seriously? How many more many- legged creeping critters are you going to show us?

;0)

They are beautiful aren't they!!

wahahahahah :)
I would love to show some more but .. the amegdala (is there such a thing?)of fear must be active now it's near halloween so .. better not

That's right, it's very near Halloween!!

Hehe, best keep that amagdala happy! ;0)

wahahahah wrong spelling wrong :D

Damn, I thought you made it up ;0)

wahahaha there's such a word but don't know how to spell can't even remember - getting older each year :)
night night
am off to bed chico

Good morning! I was in bed and sleeping by the time this came!

The hairy ones could give an alergic reaction for some when they touch them, if remember correctly. Beautifull animals, those paws, like stompy horsefeet. :-)

correct correct but then I guess its more of the hair? I don't know but it could give you scratches and most of them are the softest underneath too
I guess that's why they were fashioned with those spikes looking like hair that stings :)
I love the way you describe them feet! very gracious compared to the horse's hooves though :)

Yes the hair does that apparantly, itchy itchy. :-) Could well be their kind of defense fashion.

Them little feet are very gracious!

indeed!
ik ga naar bed
slaap lekker
vanavond mazzel gehad genade van een gul hart :)
ben dankbaar ^ ^

Gezegend worden is altijd fijn. Volg de weg van je hart en alles valt op zijn plek...

Goedemorgen alweer Ivy.

Great photos 😊

Wow. These are really beautiful, even though I can't believe I'm saying this since I am not a fan of caterpillars. The photos are amazing and the video was very neat, it was good to actually take time and watch this beautiful caterpillar. Thanks for sharing.

thank you
not everyone is a fan of them I understand :)
thanks for checking them out :)

amazing photography.
congratulations!

thank you

Very pretty caterpillars. He kind of reminds me of the caterpillar in Alice in Wonderland...Absolem.

haha most of them make me think of him :)

gorgeous creatures! legs hug and grasp the branch in a kind of cute way. Your photos and writing definitely give me a new appreciation for these critters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 66255.12
ETH 3564.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15