DEK Photography: Doublecheck!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Sometimes it feels like I'm not shooting cats, but prairie dogs. My position was quickly discovered and I lost all the photographic advantage I had, in the face of the shy feline crowd.

Images taken with my Nikon and edited in Snapseed.

_DSC0108_edited2.jpeg

_DSC0107_edited2.jpeg


I'm on a quest to obtain the incredible Fujifilm 56mm f/1.2 and the excellent Fujifilm X-T2 camera. This is a duo made in heaven, especially for street photographers, such as myself.

Help me get the gear I want - if you've enjoyed this post, please upvote and resteem, so I can continue posting my work exclusively on Steemit, as I have done so far. You can also vote on any of the following active posts, if you enjoy them (or hit #dek-photography and filter by "new" to see all of my work!)


Sort:  

chasing and photographing cats is like...well, herding cats! lol. I do this both as a pet photographer and a volunteer at the SPCA, and I give you kudos. It's hard to get a shot in focus, where they're looking at you, let alone beautifully framed in a natural setting. They're great :)

I share your passion for cats :) Indeed, it is quite hard to get them in focus, especially the small ones, which tend to run from one safe spot to another. I barely got the head in focus in this one:

And here's his whole family:

And they small gray kitty, slightly bigger, a month or two later:

You know, I sometimes have to hold back or all my photos would be of cats :D

the blockchain was made for cats. These are lovely!

Hahaha :D You might very well be right! Thank you :)

Awww they are so cute!!!

I love cats!!

I do too! :)

I'm thinking a portable trash can, or homemade phone booth with hinged camera port that you can move around with stealth while hunkered down inside, will assist in this procedure. Then again, kitty may run off when the usual staid phone booth starts to move down the street. Only trying to help out here.

That's a good idea, if I didn't live in a country, where phone booths would be used for toilets :)

I can see where that might be a slight dis-advantage. The kitties would get suspicious, when people DIDN'T use it as a toilet, because the box kept yelling at them to "get the #$()#()$&* outa here*!!!"

Exactly! :)

Classic. That is incredibly mesmerizing. Something tells me little striped TP kitty got in a spot of trouble from that one. (Not your cat, is it? )

No, no, just a gif from the net. Should be a screensaver, right? :D

Would be a good one, though I might just find myself sitting there watching it and doing even less than I do now. Thought it might be yours, as you have many cats to choose from in the realm of photogs. Thanks for the laugh at the little cat.

Its fantastic shared

Thank you! :)

Such cute kitten shots! Hope you manage to save for your new camera!

It'll be difficult at this rate, but eventually it may add up :)

It will! I'm saving for a trip to Tahiti! :-)

Oho! That's a great goal :)

My husband has been there twice before we were married. He wanted to take me there for our 10th anniversary, but it was too expensive, so we did Fiji instead. Hopefully, we will make it to Tahiti for our 25th in 2019!

Woohoo! Good luck, sounds like you have a plan - it'll take a bit of time, but it will be worth it :)

Very good post, I hope you visit mine and you like it.

Thank you, I'll check out your publications!

This person @elisaul writes this same post on everything... lol (spam)
Also plagiarizes content.

You captured their expressions perfectly!

Thanks - although I don't have many staged shots with cats :D

Ha ha good luck if you attempt to direct a cat!

That's what I meant ^^

Excellent snaps! So sharp... I see what you mean about them seeming like wild cats lol. Sometimes I am in wonder of the fact that felines were domesticated at all, they seem to be such free spirits/ independent :) You can see that primal crazed quality in their facial expressions ahaha

Thank you :) Well, they are street cats, so a bit on the wild side!

haha... their awkward reaction is priceless! resteemed

They were a bit startled! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65