Pounding the Taiko Drum 【Beautiful Japan #25】

in #photography7 years ago

I don't want to work
I just want to bang on the drum all day

Pounding_the_Taiko_Drum.jpg

Taiko (太鼓) are a kind of traditional Japanese drums. Have you ever listened to them before? The performances are really something to see. Everyone plays in complete unison, down to using the exact same hand and arm gestures. I have no idea how much practice goes into this, but I imagine it is a lot!

Here is a video I took with my iPhone of a recent performance I saw at a local festival. This is one of the less exciting songs, but it was the only one I filmed—the rest of the time I was shooting photos with the camera. Even one of the less exciting ones, it gives you an idea of what is involved in these things.


Don't miss the other great photos in the Beautiful Japan photo series!

  1. The Shogun's Keep
  2. Gate to the Shogun's Shrine
  3. The Golden Torii
  4. Across the Universe
  5. To Walk With You Under the Cherry Blossoms
  6. I Once Knew This Place
  7. Okazaki Tenmangu Shrine
  8. The White Walls of Zui'nenji
  9. Curious Kitsune Watches
  10. Meeting Place of the Kitsune
  11. What a Blur
  12. The Watcher at the Shrine
  13. Giant Torii in Road
  14. Resting Leaves
  15. The Family that Drinks Together, Stays Together
  16. Fire in the Sky
  17. The Streets of Takayama
  18. Red Path
  19. Fading Japan
  20. Relaxing at the River
  21. Tradiional Japanese Gate and Garden
  22. Daruma-san Korokoro
  23. Weeping Temple
  24. Ready for Liftoff

Thank you for reading. :)

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as some misc posts such as haiku, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.


Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97